I Know You: A Novel of Suspense

I Know You: A Novel of Suspense

by Annabel Kantaria

Hardcover

$24.29 $26.99 Save 10% Current price is $24.29, Original price is $26.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Overview

A twisted domestic thriller in the vein of B. A. Paris and Shari Lapena that asks: How well do you know your friends?

That picture you posted?
I’ve seen it.
That location you tagged?
I’ve been there.
I know everything about your life . . .
And I’m going to destroy it.

A recent transplant from sunny California, life in the London suburbs is not what Taylor Watson expected. Far from the West End shops and city lights she imagined, she finds herself pregnant and lonely, with a husband frequently away on business and only social media to keep her company. It’s only after Taylor joins a book club and a walking group, that she finally starts to make some real-life friends.
Before long, Taylor’s hanging out with Anna, Sarah, Simon, and Caroline but, as her pregnancy progresses and her friendships blossom, a sense of unease develops. Nothing’s ever quite as it seems on the surface, and it soon becomes clear that Taylor’s new friends have secrets. One appears to be after Taylor’s husband, another’s always putting her down, and then there’s the question of Simon. Could he have feelings for Taylor?
But far more worryingly, one of the group’s not being too careful what they post on social media—and another is watching all too closely. Who’s stalking who . . . and why?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643851105
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 06/11/2019
Series: A Novel of Suspense Series
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 220,351
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Annabel Kantaria is a British author and journalist who has edited and contributed to women’s magazines and publications in Britain and across the Middle East. In 2013 she won the Montegrappa Prize for First Fiction at the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature. The winning manuscript was published as “Coming Home” in 2015 and she’s gone on to write three more novels in the “domestic noir” genre: The Disappearance, The One That Got Away and I Know You. Annabel lives in Dubai with her husband, two children and a little Tonkinese rescue cat.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Know You: A Novel of Suspense 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Little_MissDQ 19 days ago
This is one of those books that can have a pro and con list as a review. Such as; Pro: the extra star is because I was able to get caught up in the story and it's mystery. Con: Every few chapters we're reminded that the main character, Taylor, is from "the States" but there are so many things that left me thinking that not only do Americans not do or say that but I couldn't help but wonder if some would even understand what she was talking about. A big part of me is thankful the author didn't try to make her a stereotype, but the disconnect was a bit jarring. Speaking of Taylor, I just did not get her and really all the other characters as well. They're all crazy. And through most of it I began to think they were plotting together. Taylor stalks someone she came across and uses loneliness as an excuse, she even throws in a "everyone does it" and "if you've never known loneliness you wouldn't understand." I know loneliness, yet I've never cared enough to track every detail (including their house) about a person I don't know. She also does a few creepy things that no one should think is a flattering idea. But then on the flip side she made her self so vulnerable that it's almost stupid. The people she befriends are either vipers or so clingy that I can't even imagine sticking around at my most loneliest. As I said, they're all crazy and there is no "oh well that explains everything" type of wrap up, they're all still crazy and weird at the end. Let's just say I did not stick around for the characters. It was a good story that might have been better if the characters had a bit more depth but I found it intriguing,
nahyee 24 days ago
Great fast-paced story that preys on our social media obsession. “I Know You” by Annabel Kantaria plays on every fear you could have about social media and the way we as a society naively post so much of our lives, giving away information even when we’re careful. Very early in the book, there’s a paragraph that mentions Instagram location services and Google Maps street view (which I’ve used) that made me think, ‘Yes, anyone could find anyone really with just a little bit of scrolling and searching.’ These tools can be great, but they can also invite some unsavory characters into our lives. The story here is well-written. There’s enough switching between Taylor Watson’s perspective and the “stalker.” Taylor tells the story in the first person, and we know from the very beginning that something happened. We just don’t know what. We are introduced to a variety of people who could be the stalker, including Taylor herself. The author does a good job of cloaking the identity. The story is fast-paced. I was about 75% of the way through when I realized we were getting a little too close to the end and I was worried we weren’t going to get a great ending. But that was really when we reach the big reveal in the story, and we get a great race to the conclusion. There was one thing about the story that really bugged me, outlined in the spoiler below. It may not bug everybody, but it’s what put me at 4 stars instead of 5. The only issue is that if this element were not in the book, the “whodunit” perspective would not have been as good. I would definitely recommend this book. I received an advance copy from NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books in exchange for an honest review. SPOILER: The main character in this book, Taylor, is from California, and she and her husband Jake moved to the UK for a fresh start after Jake cheated on her. What bugged me is that Taylor doesn’t speak like an American. She uses words like “queue” instead of “line,” “mum” instead of “mom,” and “tuts” instead of I don’t know what. When a character is supposed to be American, it really bothers me when they don’t sound like one. In this case, if Taylor sounded American, we would KNOW she isn’t the stalker, so I get it, but it still really bothered me as a reader.
1st-Reader-of-stories 10 months ago
I Know You # NetGalley Annabel Kantaria ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Another psychological thriller, but one that is, in my opinion, only as good as 3 stars. The characters are okay, but I found that I could not connect with them on an emotional level. The storyline just plods along, wraps up everything quickly and abruptly ends. As a reader, I find it not a very satisfying ending. This is the first book I have read by this author. I hope her next book will have more satisfying content to it. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an advanced read copy of this book for an honest review. ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Anonymous 11 months ago
In today's public media society, what you post is key to how people see you. What you share let's others into your home indiscriminately. Annabel Kantaria took a thriller and added the sometimes eerie things that people post and follow to make it unique. How well do you know your friends? How well do they know you? In this story, a young pregnant woman must sort through these questions to find who she can trust before her world turns ugly. It will definitely make you think!
MeganLeprich More than 1 year ago
Thank you so much to Crookedlane Books and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book for my review. This was a thriller that instantly hooked me from the beginning. I haven’t read many social media story suspense novels but now this completely changes the way I look at social media sites. It was so entertaining and compelling and I honestly thought I had the plot figured out and then I got thrown for a big loop when I found out how wrong I was. The writing style was enthralling and I loved how descriptive everything was, without being too ongoing wordy. Also, the creepiness factor was spot on. I loved the chapters in between where you could tell someone was watching but you didn’t know who it was or whom they were watching but they knew very intimate details. Those parts honestly gave me chills and had me glancing around to see if anyone was watching me. Great book and I have a new favorite author now!
CCinME More than 1 year ago
Very good and fast paced domestic suspenser. There was good character development and the story kept you guessing almost to the end.
Katie__B More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars This is a good example of a book that has unlikable characters and a creepy storyline but yet you have this compelling need to find out what is going to happen next and can't flip the pages fast enough to get answers. Even though it has some flaws here and there at the end of the day it accomplishes what I assume was one of the goals of the author, which is to entertain the reader. Taylor Watson has recently moved with her husband from California to the London suburbs and is feeling lonely and is desperate to make some friends. Even though she is pregnant, she isn't interested in joining a parenting group and instead signs herself up for a walking group as well as a book club. But as she gets to know new people, Taylor can't help but feel more and more uneasy. Something bad is about to go down, but what? This book was a nice mix of a classic 'everyone is a suspect" plot but also had this modern feel to it with the way the author incorporated social media into the story. Now even though the book held my interest, I wouldn't say the story is jammed pack with twists and turns. That's not to say I was able to guess everything correctly but other than one minor detail, I don't think anything came out of nowhere especially if you read books in this genre quite often. I did strongly dislike the big final dramatic scene as it just felt lame and not very original. But overall, I did have a good time reading this one and if you like books in this genre, you might consider checking this one out. Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free advance digital copy in exchange for an honest review.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
Taylor Watson and her husband, Jake, have recently moved from th US to London. With her husband away from home for 1 - 2 weeks at a time, and with her being pregnant, that she really misses her friends and family. Finally, after joining a walking group and a book club, does she start making friends. Taylor's new friends are Anna, Sarah, Simon and Caroline .. but after awhile she suspects that they all have secrets of one sort or another. One member of the group seems to have a thing for Taylor's husband. As he was caught cheating early in their marriage, Taylor is not especially pleased. And Simon .. the token man ... harbors some feelings for Taylor. This story is told by Taylor's perspective. However, there is another voice ... one who is stalking someone in the group. From the beginning, we learn the stalker is following very closely the posts on Instagram and Facebook. The book revolves around the use of social media and how we allow people to know everything about our lives, without actually knowing anything about them. I KNOW YOU is a fast, addictive read that will genuinely make you reconsider what you put out there on social media. Multiple suspects keep the reader engaged and guessing ... until the very end. How well do YOU know your friends? Many thanks to the author / Crooked Lane Books / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy of this psychological thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.