I Let Him Go

I Let Him Go

by Denise Fergus


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30


On February 12th, 1993, Denise's life changed forever. As she was running errands at New Strand Shopping Centre, she let go of her two-year-old son's hand to take out her purse. Denise never saw her son again. In this extraordinary and heart-wrenching book comes the unflinching account of that terrible day from James Bulger's mother, Denise. What if she had never taken James shopping? What if she had turned right coming out of the butchers, instead of left? Would she have seen her son being led out of the centre by two children? Denise's initial hope - of seeing her son on CCTV with other kids - quickly turned to devastation when, two days later, James' body was found. His murder shocked the world, as his killers became the youngest convicted murderers in the UK. Denise then took up a tortuous legal battle for James, and it was her astonishing strength and love for her son that ultimately helped to change the way the law treats victims of crime. This is a mother's tale, of finding a way through the despair to remember the happiness and wonderful memories that James brought his family. Above all, Denise doesn't want her son to be remembered as a murdered child, and with this beautifully written book she does just that.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781911600121
Publisher: Blink Publishing
Publication date: 05/01/2018
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 1,076,842
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Denise Fergus is the mother of James Bulger, who was murdered in 1993 - in a series of events that shocked the world. Denise lives with her three sons and her second husband, Stuart. In 2010, Denise launched the James Bulger Memorial Trust, which supports young victims of crime, hatred and bullying. In January 2017, Denise was given the British Citizen Award for her tireless work helping other families through situations similar to her own.

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

Chapter 1 A Liverpool Girl 5

Chapter 2 Loss and Life 19

Chapter 3 Forging a Bond 33

Chapter 4 Fizzing With Life 45

Chapter 5 Final Hours 57

Chapter 6 The Hunt 71

Chapter 7 'Please Bring My Baby Home.' 85

Chapter 8 Starting a Life Sentence 95

Chapter 9 The Arrests 107

Chapter 10 My Baby's Funeral 119

Chapter 11 Falling Apart 129

Chapter 12 The Eye of the Storm 141

Chapter 13 The Trial 155

Chapter 14 Guilty 173

Chapter 15 A Reason to Live 187

Chapter 16 Petition for Justice 201

Chapter 17 Just Me and My Son Michael 215

Chapter 18 My Rock 225

Chapter 19 Picking up the Fight 239

Chapter 20 New Beginnings 249

Chapter 21 My Voice 265

Chapter 22 Release 275

Chapter 23 Keeping Focussed 289

Chapter 24 Caught 303

Chapter 25 Gone, But Never Forgotten 313

Acknowledgements 326

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews