Ice Level

Ice Level

by Ava Luna


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Ice Level

Following a string of EP releases, Ice Level is the claustropobically elaborate full-length debut from Brooklyn-based indie cold funk collective Ava Luna. Taking inspiration from the late-'70s Ze Records hybridization of funk and No Wave, or the like minded freak-disco of 99 Records acts like ESG, the eight songs on Ice Level are all slick, slinky, and wiry numbers. The nervy R&B compositions are fronted by brainchild/N.Y.C. producer Carlos Hernandez and augmented by stunning vocal arrangements from Felicia Douglass, Rebecca Kauffman, and Anna Sian. The album is an in-depth study in tension and release, sometimes on a micro level, aiming for the skeletal instrumentation and directness of something like Lizzy Mercier Descloux's disconnected grooves. Complex vocal harmonies bracket almost every verse beautifully à la Dirty Projectors, and the songs' lack of any type of hooks or pop sensibilities isn't a problem, as they get by on the power of the vocal interplay and liquid nature of the playing.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/06/2012
Label: Infinite Best
UPC: 0600197550823
catalogNumber: 8

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews