Idols of Exile

Idols of Exile

by Jason Collett


$10.12 $11.99 Save 16% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $11.99. You Save 16%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Idols of Exile

Since the release of his second album, 2003's Motor Motel Love Songs, singer/songwriter Jason Collett has kept himself busy writing and recording with his music family in Broken Social Scene. In the midst of completing and releasing their self-titled masterpiece in 2005, Collett resumed his solo career. Idols of Exile picks up where the bittersweet melodies of Motor Motel Love Songs left off. Album opener "Fire" sets the mood with its laid-back acoustic guitars and golden-toned harmonies. Collett sweetly sings, "The good morning comes like a hit and run." Despite his words packing such a punch from the start, these songs are much more relaxed and inviting. Having his friends in tow -- singer/songwriter Leslie Feist, Emily Haines, and James Shaw (Metric), Evan Cranley and Amy Millan (Stars), Andrew Whiteman (Apostle of Hustle), Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning (Broken Social Scene), and Charles Spearin (Do Make Say Think) -- adds to the warm spirit of Idols of Exile. It's a day-driving kind of record, alt-country melodies sun-soaked in lush soundscapes of social merrymaking, broken hearts, and pink skylines. From the slow dance of "Almost Summer" and Haines' wispy vocals of "Hangover Days" to the more playful clap-along of "I'll Bring the Sun" and "Feral Republic," Idols of Exile isn't much different from what Collett has done with Broken Social Scene in the way that it is an honest and decent record. It is a more stripped-down affair compared to Broken Social Scene's more ambitious material, so fans of the band or those fond of the Arts & Crafts label should enjoy Idols of Exile.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/07/2006
Label: Arts & Crafts
UPC: 0827590100022
catalogNumber: 10
Rank: 119775

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jason Collett   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Andrew Cash   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Julian Brown   Bass
Tony Scherr   Bass,Electric Guitar
Andrew Whiteman   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Tres
James Shaw   Trumpet,Background Vocals
Bob Egan   Pedal Steel Guitar
Howie Beck   Bass,Harmonica,Mandolin,Piano,Drums,Glockenspiel,Tambourine,Triangle,Shaker,Guiro
Brendan Canning   Bass,Piano,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Charles Spearin   Banjo
Evan Cranley   Trombone,Background Vocals
Kevin Drew   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Emily Haines   Vocals
Justin Peroff   Drums,Tom-Tom
Leslie Feist   Background Vocals
Liam O'Neil   Synthesizer
Kersti McLeod   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Amy Millan   Background Vocals
Chris Brown   Organ,Clavinet
Julie Penner   Violin
Afie Jurvanen   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Peter Hudson   Engineer
Howie Beck   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Louise Upperton   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews