If Birds Fly Back

If Birds Fly Back

by Carlie Sorosiak

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, June 25

Overview

A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

Linny has kept a journal of famous disappearances ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night. Sebastian is an aspiring astrophysicist with a working theory for everything—but the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father.

They haven’t met—yet—but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Àlvaro Herrera, who who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As their lives converge around the mystery of Àlvaro, they begin to uncover the answers they’ve been looking for.

With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of searching for those who leave—and loving those who stay.

"If Birds Fly Back feels like that last hazy, sun-drenched summer of high school, when you know you'll need to find your place in the world, but you're busy laughing and falling in love under starlit skies. It's the rarest author who can pull off laugh-out-loud hilarious, profound, and breathlessly romantic, all in the most sparkling prose. That shortlist includes Rainbow Rowell, Nicola Yoon, and now, Carlie Sorosiak."Jeff Zentner, acclaimed author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062563965
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/27/2017
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 1.37(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Carlie Sorosiak is the author of If Birds Fly Back and Wild Blue Yonder. She grew up in North Carolina and holds two master’s degrees: one in English from Oxford University and another in creative writing and publishing from City University London. Her life goals include traveling to all seven continents and fostering many polydactyl cats. She currently splits her time between the United States and the United Kingdom, hoping to gain an accent like Madonna’s. Visit her online at www.carliesorosiak.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

If Birds Fly Back 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
A really solid read. It took a little while to really get going, but I loved the ending so much. The characters were so relatable, and I loved the relationship that unfolded between Linny and Sebastian, as well as the relationship between Linny and her sister Grace. Check out more great book reviews on my blog, A Reading Red Sox, here: http://areadingredsox.blogspot.com/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a gorgeously written, absolute gem of a debut! Carlie Sorosiak deftly weaves themes of loss, abandonment and identity into one of the most captivating romances I've read. I adored Linny and Sebastian! The story's structure works brilliantly in the alternating POV of the two main characters but what elevates it to another level is the addition of the character's coping mechanisms: Linny's screenplay and excerpts from Sebastian's favorite physics text. Drafting the screenplay helps Linny get an understanding of her sister's abandonment and Sebastion relies on the text for guidance in dealing with his father's abandonment. While these issues are serious and Sorosiak never underestimates the immense pain of these losses, the story just sails due to the humor and wit of Linny and Sebastian. The dialogue in this book simply pops off the pages, the characters' voices so distinct and singular, the Miami setting so realistic you could feel the heat - IF BIRDS FLY BACK picks you up and doesn't let go until the last page. This spectacular debut is a must read!