If You Knew Her: A Novel

If You Knew Her: A Novel

by Emily Elgar

Hardcover

$25.07 $26.99 Save 7% Current price is $25.07, Original price is $26.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Overview

From a terrific new voice comes a standout debut thriller in the vein of What She Knew and I Let You Go.

“Emotionally charged and tautly plotted, Emily Elgar’s debut is a stunning example of psychological suspense.”—Clare Mackintosh, international bestselling author of I Let You Go and I See You

A woman in a coma.

The man who could save her life—if only he could speak.

When young, beautiful Cassie Jensen arrives unconscious to the intensive care ward at St. Catherine’s hospital after being struck in a hit-and-run while out walking her dog, chief nurse Alice Marlowe thinks she looks familiar. She starts digging deeper into Cassie’s relationships, only to discover something about her patient that she’d been keeping secret from everyone, including her devoted husband and family. Soon Alice finds herself obsessed with her patient’s past and future, even willing to put her own career on the line in her single-minded search for answers. 

Frank, a patient on the same ward who has locked-in syndrome, can hear and see everything around him but cannot speak. Soon he comes to understand that Cassie’s life is still in danger. While the police continue to look for clues, only Frank holds the truth, but he’s unable to communicate it. 

As the novel flashes between points of view, the reader will get closer and closer to the truth of who Cassie Jensen was, and why she was out on the road that fateful night . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062834041
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/23/2018
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 861,753
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.21(d)

About the Author

Originally from the Cotswolds, Emily Elgar studied at Edinburgh University and then worked for a non-profit organization providing support services to sex workers in the UK. She went on to complete the novel writing course at the Faber Academy in 2014. She currently lives in East Sussex with her husband. If You Knew Her is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

If You Knew Her: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am the only avid reader in my house. I love nothing more than peace and quiet and the good smell of a book to start my day. However, I have the hustle and bustle of getting teenagers off to school. I should not complain, though. I have one that is graduating high school this June. (yikes!!) I wish time did not move so fast. I am reminded of Ferris Bueller’s famous quote, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” This is so true!! I feel like it was only yesterday when my kids were little and just discovering life. I did read to them often and had them read to me as they were growing, however, they did not enjoy it as much as I did. Loving books became my passion when I was growing up. I have my precious mom to thank for that. At an early age, my reward for always getting honor roll, was going to the bookstore and picking any book I wanted. I always drifted to the books about horses and fell in love with The Black Stallion series by Walter Farley. The imagination of a young girl just wandered off once I had one of those books in my hands. The book I just finished is If you knew her by Emily Elgar. This is her first novel. The back of the book got me and I instantly wanted to read it. We see it everyday if we watch movies or even true crime. Someone is leading a double life and instantly we want to know more. The same is true with this book. I like how Emily gives us points of view from each character as the story unfolds. It is a slow burn at first as you gather all points of view but ever so slowly and beautifully, you begin to read more and more like a madman. Why? Because, you want to know how the story unfolds. I really thing Emily Elgar did a great job for her first novel. I enjoyed this story and her unique way of unfolding. In fact, I was sad that it came to an end. Liars have such a way of getting caught. This is why I taught my boys to be themselves and be truthful. There are some twists and turns that I did not expect but I read on to find out more. You could feel each emotional story in the characters of this book. No spoilers here, you must read this for yourself. Thank you, Emily Elgar for such a delightful page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It’s hard to believe this is a first book for this author. The characters are very skillfully drawn with the relationships merging in surprising ways. Loved the ending and was completely surprised. Throughly enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read her next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read full of twists and turns. Love how it is told by multiple characters that the reader can connect to and love.
LEH0644 More than 1 year ago
Frank is in the hospital after suffering a stroke. Although he is unable to speak, he can hear perfectly. And when the bed next to him is occupied by a young woman in a coma, he hears things he should no have heard. He tries to communicate with his daughter and the nurses by blinking but is afraid he won’t be able to get his message across before the woman is murdered. Alice is the nurse who has worked with him and he trusts her. She will get the message he is trying to blink. But where is Alice? The young woman in a coma is Cassie. She was hit and left for dead but the police of unsure who did it. Was it the husband who Cassie saw kissing her best friend? Was it her friend Jonny who was drunk and didn't realize he had hit someone? Was it Nicky, the best friend who Cassie saw kissing and fondling her husband? I loved the book. It was suspenseful and held my attention all the way through. I highly recommend it.
alfFL More than 1 year ago
I wasted my money. Poorly written; very juvenile. I dislike thoughts in italics and this book has an abundance of them. Lots of f-bombs and profanity. I'll stay clear of this author in the future.
INpurplereader More than 1 year ago
Emily Elgar has crafted a thoughtful, carefully plotted multiple perspectives first novel with If You Knew Her. Synopsis: Alice, a critical care nurse, cares for two patients in different stages of coma as their lives before their accidents slowly are revealed. Some stories told from multiple perspectives do a good job of letting a person see through a character's eyes. Elearn does more than this. She let's you live the life alongside Alice, one of the main protagonists as she ministers to the needs of her two patients. Now don't think this is a medical drama filled with intense medical terminology, for though Alice is one of the most empathetic and caring nurse the NHS could hope to have, she also has a life outside the ward. A second main character is Frank, an older, alcoholic man who suffered at least one incapacitating stroke that has him hooked up to support as the doctors try to determine whether he is in a vegetative state or, as Alice suggests, in a frozen state. Let me say here that Elgar created such a real character in Frank that as his perspective is given I felt myself holding my breath and urging him on in his recovery. Finally, we have Cassie, a young woman brought in after being found in a creek early on New Year's, fully in a coma. Her chapters are mostly told in flashback and Elgar does a stunning job of creating red herrings that set up myriad possible perpetrators of a dastardly crime involving how and why Cassie winds up on Ward 9B. This is definitely a mix of mystery and psychological suspense with more thinking and almost no gore. Elgar seems to know that the intracies of the human mind can surprise and horrifying one more than anything else. This would make a fine read for a book club, a great discussion for those involved in any phase of how comatose patients are treated, a fascinating book for anyone interested in the duplicity of the public face and private motives.
INpurplereader More than 1 year ago
Emily Elgar has crafted a thoughtful, carefully plotted multiple perspectives first novel with If You Knew Her. Synopsis: Alice, a critical care nurse, cares for two patients in different stages of coma as their lives before their accidents slowly are revealed. Some stories told from multiple perspectives do a good job of letting a person see through a character's eyes. Elearn does more than this. She let's you live the life alongside Alice, one of the main protagonists as she ministers to the needs of her two patients. Now don't think this is a medical drama filled with intense medical terminology, for though Alice is one of the most empathetic and caring nurse the NHS could hope to have, she also has a life outside the ward. A second main character is Frank, an older, alcoholic man who suffered at least one incapacitating stroke that has him hooked up to support as the doctors try to determine whether he is in a vegetative state or, as Alice suggests, in a frozen state. Let me say here that Elgar created such a real character in Frank that as his perspective is given I felt myself holding my breath and urging him on in his recovery. Finally, we have Cassie, a young woman brought in after being found in a creek early on New Year's, fully in a coma. Her chapters are mostly told in flashback and Elgar does a stunning job of creating red herrings that set up myriad possible perpetrators of a dastardly crime involving how and why Cassie winds up on Ward 9B. This is definitely a mix of mystery and psychological suspense with more thinking and almost no gore. Elgar seems to know that the intracies of the human mind can surprise and horrifying one more than anything else. This would make a fine read for a book club, a great discussion for those involved in any phase of how comatose patients are treated, a fascinating book for anyone interested in the duplicity of the public face and private motives.
Twink More than 1 year ago
If You Knew Her is Emily Elgar's debut novel. Cassie Jensen is out walking her dog late at night when she is struck by a car. She lands in an intensive care unit under the watch of Nurse Alice. Also in the ward is a patient named Frank, locked into his body, unable to communicate that he can hear and see. And as family and friends stop by the ward to see Cassie, Alice gets the feeling that something just isn't quite right. And Frank? Oh, Frank knows something isn't right - but he has no way of telling anyone. What a great premise! We learn more about what led to this moment from Cassie's memories. There are two other POVs - Alice and Frank's. Bit by bit, the story is pieced together. Those rotating POVs had me listening to just one more chapter late into the night, seeing if I could guess the final whodunit. And guess what? I didn't! I love not being able to guess the final reveal. Each chapter does add to the mystery plot, but also explores each character's personal life though a development in the present. I chose to listen to If You Knew Her. The reader was Katey Stobey. I quite enjoyed her voice. It's pleasant to listen to, easy to understand and I thought she interpreted Elgar's work well. Her inflections and tones match the content and characters well. This was a clever debut and I can't wait to read what Elgar writes next!