If You Love It, It Will Grow: A Guide To Healthy, Beautiful Natural Hair

If You Love It, It Will Grow: A Guide To Healthy, Beautiful Natural Hair

by Phoenyx Austin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940014077835
Publisher: Phoenyx Austin
Publication date: 01/31/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 657,671
File size: 226 KB

About the Author

Dr. Phoenyx Austin, M.D. is a fitness specialist and bestselling author. Dr. Phoenyx has been featured in countless publications, lifestyle e-zines, beauty blogs and online magazines such as EBONY and Essence. She has also been featured on popular syndicated television and radio shows on networks such as ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, and Radio One.

For more information about Dr. Phoenyx Austin, visit her site: www.DrPhoenyx.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

If You Love It, It Will Grow: A Guide To Healthy, Beautiful Natural Hair 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
My-BookDen More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness I love this book and I am so thankful that this information is now available to help me with my hair growth. If you are like me, I want long beautiful hair. My hair is my accessory, my hair adds to my beauty and I have been trying to grow my hair and ended up spoiling it like crazy. I love this book, why do I even love this book, because it has and is giving me a guideline for me to work on having a life-time hair affair. I like the way it has been written, getting the personal story from the author right at the very beginning and hearing her struggles and knowing that she was able to get the hair she wanted (And I can see from her pictures and I want me some of that hair) gives me hope. I also enjoyed the way she explained the structure of afro-textured hair and how it generally work. And then, oh my goodness, and then she goes on to gives you the information, the guidelines, the myths and how the different products work on afro-textured hair. She touches on a whole ranges of products use from, vitamins, to oils to ayurvedic products. She gives me options and a choices for me to make. She concentrates on products to use on afro-textured hair and I felt even though I have natural hair if I decide to relax my hair, I can still use this information, because at the end of it all its about afro-textured hair. She even gives some of the regimens she uses. Overall I liked reading this book, it was easy to follow and now I am going back to mark the sections I liked and come up with my own regimen. Thanks Dr P.
NappyNubianLuv More than 1 year ago
I have ready a large amount of books, blogs, etc. regarding natural hair do's and dont's... This is by far the best book I've read by far! Instead of receiving some high level overview that basically covers the topic, it gets right down to the nitty gritty. The book was thorough, well thought out and understandable. I wish I had this book in October 2009 when I decided enough was enough and went on my natural journey. Dr. Austin ROCKS!
Jazzyma More than 1 year ago
Having been diagnosed with early alopecia, I tried many hair growth products including hair transplant with little to no results. Needless to say, I came to the realization that I needed to go natural but hesitated because I lacked the knowledge and the courage. However, after reading Dr. Austin’s book, I now feel empowered with the knowledge to finally go natural. In her book, Dr. Austin sets aside the sometimes confusing jargon frequently found in some books and takes you on a personal journey of the transition process. But most important, she teaches you “how to” care for your hair from the inside out. If you are looking for a book written with authority and sensitivity on the topic of hair growth, this is the book. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a holistic approach to growing and caring for healthy beautiful natural hair from the inside out. Dr. Austin, thank you for sharing.
bphillips More than 1 year ago
I bought this book to help me figure out how to take care of my natural hair. Her system is simple, and easy to follow; it gives you a lot of options. I found the right olis for my hair, and my curls are hydrated, healthy and happy. This book is excellent; I highly recommend it!
hi_m8nence More than 1 year ago
I should have read this book first! Unfortunately, I read a different book first and was left with more questions than answers. Dr. Austin has given us so much practical "take away" value. This is not just a book for women with natural hair. This is a book for anyone who desires to have healthy long hair. Whether you have chemically processed hair or natural hair...you will find valuable information here. This book covers the whole ball of wax; how to nurture the body, the mind and the soul for overall good health. Dr. Austin isn't just speaking to our hair. I anxiously look forward to her next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the BEST book I have ever read on Black hair care. As a person that practices holistic living and looks to hair care advice from reputable professionals, I must say that I am very impressed with Dr. Austin's expertise on Black hair care. Furthermore, I was even more impressed with her stunning head of hair. I truly enjoyed this book and it's very rare that you find health professionals that can communicate with readers (let alone patients) on a very personable level. This doctor does just that. She approaches the subject of Black hair care from a professional, as well as a personal perspective. Her writing style is down to earth and even beautiful at times (especially when she talks about her previous hair and self-esteem struggles). I especially loved how she delved deep into topics like alternative medicine treatments and nutritional supplements for hair growth. I would absolutely recommend this book to any and everyone who is looking for a comprehensive guide to growing healthy and long Black hair!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very informative and insightful, written from Dr. Phoenyx Austin's personal experiences with natural hair. She breaks the information into easy to follow categories so that you can really understand the differences between hair products. I have added this book to my reference category as I am still learning about how to take care of my natural hair, and I encourage anyone whether natural or thinking of becoming natural to get this book, you'll love it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! The whole philosophy of loving your god given hair is the best approach! I bought the book for information on Aryuvedic hair care, but i got so much more from it! A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fitdiva More than 1 year ago
I agree If you love it, It will grow. Great book !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago