Igor Stravinsky: Threni; Requiem Canticles

Igor Stravinsky: Threni; Requiem Canticles

by Philippe Herreweghe


$22.79 $23.99 Save 5% Current price is $22.79, Original price is $23.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, July 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Igor Stravinsky: Threni; Requiem Canticles

All four of the works on this album come from the last part of Stravinsky's career, when he accepted the reigning serialist orthodoxy of the day. As with other music of the period, these have declined in performance frequency (and were never that popular to begin with) since then. Yet they respond well to the rather stark performances of which early music singers are capable, and that's what you get here from the superb Collegium Vocale Ghent and Royal Flemish Philharmonic. Three of the four are serialist; the last is a completion of a motet by Renaissance experimentalist Carlo Gesualdo. Of the two large chorus-and-orchestra pieces, the "Requiem Canticles" of 1966 probably enjoy more frequent performances as Stravinsky's last major composition. They are short, almost fragmentary settings of requiem texts that bring Webern to mind. The lesser-known work is "Threni" (1958), a setting of selections from the Lamentations of Jeremiah the Prophet. This work perhaps comes closer than any other to bringing Stravinsky's late style full circle to the Russian-influenced sound of his early work. Sample the tenor-flügelhorn duet on different versions of the tone row in the "Quomodo sedet," curiously evocative of Orthodox chant. The two small unaccompanied choral pieces are genuine rarities, and they're beautifully sung here. Recommended for lovers of Stravinsky's serialist period, or even just for those who want to sample it. Outhere's engineering work at the De Singel arts center in Antwerp is impressive.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 5400439000209
catalogNumber: 5070074
Rank: 91058


  1. Anthem: The Dove Descending Breaks the Air, for chorus  (02:55)
  2. Threni: id est Lamentationes Jerimiæ Prophetæ, for 6 vocal soloists, chorus & orchestra

    1. Incipit  (00:51)
    2. De Elegia Prima  (06:47)
    3. De Elegia Tertia: 1. Querimonia  (06:55)
    4. De Elegia Tertia: 2. Sensus spei  (06:35)
    5. De Elegia Tertia: 3. Solacium  (03:23)
    6. De Elegia Quinta: Oratio Jeremiae Prophetae  (03:17)
  3. Requiem Canticles, for 2 vocal soloists, chorus & orchestra

    1. Praeludium  (01:10)
    2. Exaudi  (01:43)
    3. Dies irae  (00:55)
    4. Tuba mirum  (01:06)
    5. Interludium  (02:30)
    6. Rex tremendae  (01:11)
    7. Lacrimosa  (01:46)
    8. Libera me  (00:54)
    9. Postludium  (01:53)
  4. Sacræ Cantiones (3), for chorus (after Gesualdo): Da Pacem Domine

    1. Da Pacem Domine  (03:20)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews