Immortal Franco

Immortal Franco

by Syran Mbenza


$16.72 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Immortal Franco

Tribute albums can be tricky things, and when it's a tribute to such a towering figure of African music as the guitarist Franco, then those involved could be skating on thin ice. But few could be more qualified for such a task than the musicians here, since many of those involved worked with the great man -- indeed, Mbenza was a vital figure in Franco's career, and who don't have lengthy careers playing Congolese rhumba. These are guys who don't just talk the talk, they walk the walk, both on lesser-known items from the canon as well as bigger hits like "Infidelité Mado." Perhaps the biggest problem with tribute albums is that they're often too polite and reverent, and this is no exception. The playing is, of course, impeccable, and a delight to hear, but there's not the edge to it that there was in the originals. It's more about being precise, and there's nothing wrong with that -- it's still incredibly danceable, joyful music. But for anyone seeking true inspiration, go to the originals.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/28/2009
Label: Riverboat
UPC: 0605633005028
catalogNumber: 1050
Rank: 172548

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Syran Mbenza   Primary Artist,Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Soloist
Wuta Mayi   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jimmy M'Vondo M'vele   Saxophone
Bopol Mansiamina   Rhythm Guitar
Ballou Canta   Vocals,Background Vocals
Viviane Arnoux   Accordion
Deba Sungu   Conga
Komba Bello Mafwala   Percussion,Drums
Vangu Tungila (Fofo Le Collegien)   Guitar
Ketsia   Background Vocals
Elba "Top a" Kuluma   Vocals,Background Vocals
Deba Sungu   Conga
Ballou Canta   Vocals,Background Vocals
Flavien Makabi Mingini   Bass

Technical Credits

Wuta Mayi   Composer
C.C. Smith   Liner Notes
Ntesa Dalienst   Composer
Rocherean Mujos   Composer
Syran Mbenza   Composer
Thierry Galion   Engineer
Franco Luambo   Composer
Mayaula Mayoni   Composer
Camille Feruzi   Composer
Celi Bitsou   Composer
Cc Smith   Liner Notes
"Michelino" Mavatiku Visi   Composer
Ya Ntesa Dalienst   Composer
Mujos   Composer
Vicky   Composer
Fabio   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews