IMPACT: A Memoir of PTSD

IMPACT: A Memoir of PTSD

by Jane Ann McLachlan

Paperback(Revised ed.)

$17.00
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5

Overview

For readers of The Glass Castle, Half Alive, and Wild, an inspiring, intimate memoir about family, loss, and finding one’s way, that shimmers with truth and heart on every page.



On a sunny spring morning, Jane Ann McLachlan was driving her daughter, newly home from university, on a routine errand. Their affectionate banter was suddenly broken when a jeep barreled into their car. The impact trapped McLachlan in the car with multiple injuries, and resulted in severe post-traumatic stress syndrome.

McLachlan takes us on a deeply personal and emotional journey through PTSD. She is forced to surrender her illusion of control and re-evaluate what it is that gives a life value. In telling her story, she captures with searing candor and moments of wry humor the impact of PTSD on its victims and their families, and shines a light on the unacknowledged truth that PTSD is not something that only happens to war veterans or victims of years of abuse, but something that can happen to anyone.

Impact is the story of how a life can be shattered in the blink of an eye, and of how to begin again.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781999383664
Publisher: Jane Ann McLachlan
Publication date: 12/07/2019
Edition description: Revised ed.
Pages: 314
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Jane Ann McLachlan was born in Toronto, Canada, and currently lives with her husband, author Ian Darling, in Waterloo, Ontario.

Before becoming a full-time writer, Jane Ann was a college professor of English and Professional Ethics. She is the author of four non-fiction books, including her memoir, IMPACT: A Memoir of PTSD, and eight novels.

Between books, Jane Ann enjoys gardening, quilting, travel, spending time with family, teaching creative writing, and escaping the cold Canadian winters. She is addicted to story, and reads just about any kind of book, but she writes mostly historical fiction set in the Middle Ages and young adult science fiction and fantasy.

Her novel, The Sorrow Stone, won the Royal Palm Literary Award for Historical Fiction, and her science fiction novel won the Book Publishers' of Alberta Award for Science Fiction. Her yuoung adult novels have been highly recommended by the American Library Association and the Canadian Library Association. The Occasional Diamond Thief was featured in VOYA and The Salarian Desert Game was listed among the Best Canadian Books for Kids and Teens in 2014.

You can learn more about her books on her author website: www.janeannmclachlan.com

Table of Contents

Prelude

Chapter 1: The Crash

Chapter 2: The Hospital

Chapter 3: Coming Home

Chapter 4: Victim

Chapter 5: Seeking Help

Chapter 6: Anger

Chapter 7: Hope

Chapter 8: Hard Decisions

Chapter 9: Back At Work

Chapter 10: Resolutions

Chapter 11: Endurance

Chapter 12: Confidence

Chapter 13: Escape

Chapter 14: Dreamland

Chapter 15: Lost In Translation

Chapter 16: Traffic

Chapter 17: Every Teeter Totters

Chapter 18: Play The Hand You're Dealt

Chapter 19:Putting The Pieces Together

Chapter 20: White Light

The Symptoms of PTSD

Dealing With Panic Attacks

Therapeutic Writing

Customer Reviews