Impulsive! Unmixed

Impulsive! Unmixed



Impulsive! Unmixed collects ten tracks from one of the most influential and eclectic jazz labels in the history of the genre. Boasting an extraordinarily wide range of performers spanning three decades, these cuts encompass the pop-jazz of Chico Hamilton and Gabor Szabo; New Thing representatives Pharoah Sanders, Archie Shepp, and Yusef Lateef; the big-band experimentation of Oliver Nelson, Charles Mingus, and George Russell; and the Afro-Cuban sounds of Dizzy Gillespie and Chico O'Farrill. The "Unmixed" portion of the title refers to the companion set, Impulsive! Revolutionary Jazz Reworked, in which turntablists take interesting liberty with these ten tracks by scrambling them up and feeding them back into the digital age. No matter what your feelings concerning remixing experimentation, rest assured that Impulsive! Unmixed is a well-chosen primer collection for the jazz novice and a great-sounding disc for the completist.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2005
Label: Impulse Records
UPC: 0602498843178
catalogNumber: 000528202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clarence White   Alto Saxophone
John Blake   Violin
Bob Brookmeyer   Trombone
Marion Brown   Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Eric Dolphy   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Booker Ervin   Tenor Saxophone
Bill Evans   Piano
Art Farmer   Trumpet
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet,Vocals
Chico Hamilton   Drums
Beaver Harris   Drums
Leroy Jenkins   Violin
Cecil McBee   Bass,Percussion,finger cymbals
Charles Mingus   Bass
Oliver Nelson   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Walter Perkins   Drums
Jerome Richardson   Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Max Roach   Drums
Archie Shepp   Tenor Saxophone
Lonnie Liston Smith   Percussion,Piano,Claves
Gabor Szabo   Guitar
Clifford Thornton   Cornet
Hal McKusick   Alto Saxophone
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Joe Wilder   Trumpet
Roland Alexander   Tenor Saxophone
Mike Longo   Piano
Georges Arvanitas   Piano
Britt Woodman   Trombone
Clifford Jarvis   Percussion,Drums,Maracas,Bells
Albert Stinson   Bass
Kiane Zawadi   Trombone
George Duvivier   Bass
Yusef Lateef   Bamboo Flute
Cohn   Tenor Saxophone
Ollie Anderson   Percussion
Joshie Armstead   Vocals
George Barrow   Baritone Saxophone
James Black   Drums
Roy Burrowes   Trumpet
Don Butterfield   Tuba
Jaki Byard   Piano
Clark Terry   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Vocals
Nene DeFense   Percussion
Cornell Dupree   Guitar
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Hal Gordon   Percussion
Charles "Majeed" Greenlee   Trombone
Dick Hafer   Tenor Saxophone
Roy Haynes   Drums
Freddie Hubbard   Trumpet
Jon Hendricks   Narrator
Henry Hull   Vocals
Hakim Jami   Euphonium
Gerald Jemmott   Bass
Louis Kabok   Bass
Ronald Lipscomb   Cello
Charles McGhee   Trumpet
Marty Morell   Drums
Chico O'Farrill   Conductor,Vocals
Eddie Preston   Trumpet
Reggie Workman   Bass
Michael Ridley   Trumpet
Pharoah Sanders   Percussion,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Bells
Frank Schifano   Bass
Calo Scott   Cello
Charles Stephens   Trombone
James Ware   Baritone Saxophone
Michael White   Percussion,Violin
Phil Woods   Alto Saxophone
Juma Sultan   Percussion
Richard Gene Williams   Trumpet
George Bohanon   Percussion
Tom Mitchell   Trombone
Candy Finch   Drums
Billy Robinson   Tenor Saxophone
Roland Wilson   Bass

Technical Credits

Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Beaver Harris   Composer
Charles Mingus   Composer
Oliver Nelson   Composer
Archie Shepp   Composer
Lonnie Liston Smith   Composer
Gabor Szabo   Composer
Yusef Lateef   Composer
Clark Terry   Composer
Ed Michel   Producer
Chico O'Farrill   Arranger,Composer
Bill Szymczyk   Producer
Creed Taylor   Producer
Bob Thiele   Producer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Sherniece Smith   Production Director

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews