In Search of a Prophet: A Spiritual Journey with Kahlil Gibran

In Search of a Prophet: A Spiritual Journey with Kahlil Gibran

by Paul-Gordon Chandler


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 1 week


In Search of a Prophet is a fascinating journey through the spiritual life of Kahlil Gibran, author of the bestselling book The Prophet. Capturing our imaginations and enriching our spirits, Paul-Gordon Chandler explores this beloved writer and artist, a mystic who sought to build bridges and tear down walls.

In Search of a Prophet is not a traditional biography but a compelling spiritual journey through Gibran’s writings, art, and the places he lived. From his birthplace village high in the snowy mountains of Lebanon, Chandler leads us through his emigration to Boston, art training in Paris, career in New York, and to the far-reaching places of influence his writings and art have traveled.

Delving into passages of some of Gibran’s writings—both famous and less well known—Chandler breathes life into this captivating poet artist who moved beyond religion to the core of universal spirituality and was a unique blend of East and West. His voice is timeless, appealing to heart and mind, faith and reason—a much-needed guide for our times.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538104279
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 09/01/2017
Pages: 200
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Paul-Gordon Chandler, an Episcopal priest, is an interfaith advocate, art curator, and social entrepreneur who has lived and worked in North Africa and the Middle East for many years. He is the founder and president of CARAVAN, an international movement that uses the arts to build bridges of peace between the creeds and cultures of the Middle East and the West. He is the author of Pilgrims of Christ on the Muslim Road: Exploring a New Path Between Two Faiths. He can be reached at

Table of Contents

Chapter One: The Sacred Valley
Chapter Two: The Heretic
Chapter Three: The Lover
Chapter Four: The Madman
Chapter Five: The Tempest
Chapter Six: The Prophet
Chapter Seven: The Son of Man
Chapter Eight: The Wanderer
Chapter Nine: A Man for Our Times
Timeline of the Life of Kahlil Gibran

Customer Reviews