B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
In the Name of God: The Colliding Lives, Legends, and Legacies of J. Frank Norris and George W. Truett

In the Name of God: The Colliding Lives, Legends, and Legacies of J. Frank Norris and George W. Truett

by O. S. Hawkins


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


In the Name of God tells the story of two iconic figures of national lore. George W. Truett and J. Frank Norris dominated the ecclesiology and church culture of much of the first half of the twentieth century, not only in Texas, but in the whole of America. Norris, of First Baptist Church in Fort Worth, and Truett, of First Baptist Church in Dallas, lived lives of conflict and controversy. Each led one of the largest churches in the world in the 1920s and & '30s. Each shot and killed a man, one by accident and the other in self-defense. Together, their lives were a panoply of intrigue, espionage, confrontation, manipulation, plotting, scheming, and even blackmail—in the name of God. Yet together . . . they changed the world.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781087743196
Publisher: B&H Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/01/2021
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 423,944
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

O. S. Hawkins (PhD, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary) is the former pastor of the historic First Baptist Church in Dallas, Texas. Since 1997 he has served as president and chief executive officer of GuideStone Financial Resources, the world’s largest screened mutual fund, serving 250,000 church workers and Christian university personnel. Hawkins is the author of over fifty books, including the best-selling Joshua Code and the entire Code Series, with over two million copies sold. He preaches in churches and conferences across the nation. Visit him at Oshawkins.com and follow him on Twitter (@oshawkins).


Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Two Cities, Two Churches, Two Pastors 
Chapter 2: J. Frank Norris: The Texas Tornado 
Chapter 3: George W. Truett: The Eternal Optimist 
Chapter 4: Conflict and Controversy 
Chapter 5: The Influence of J. Frank Norris on Modern Southern Baptist Theology, Church Growth, Evangelism, and Practice 
Chapter 6: Conclusion 

Customer Reviews