In the Shadow of the Black Sun: The Complete Trilogy

In the Shadow of the Black Sun: The Complete Trilogy

by William Kenney

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


In the Shadow of the Black Sun: The Complete Trilogy contains the following books:

Book One: A Dream of Storms, Book Two: Shards of S'Darin, Book Three: Mournenhile

All 3 books are included in one file with illustrations by the author.

Hagan wanted nothing more than to be left alone, but his world needed him again. It had been twelve years since the Battle of the Black Sun and in his self-imposed exile, he was more often to be found with a bottle in hand rather than his legendary blade. All of the horrors that he had hidden away in the back of his mind were thrown into his lap once more when the signs began to appear.

A woman was found mutilated, her unborn child having torn its way from her belly. A horrific plague had swept through the lands, rotting its victims from the feet up as the leaves fell in Elfwhere, the forest that knew no autumn. The mages of Councilcrane have seen the truth of these events as omens foretelling the return of Mournenhile, the evil being that had nearly destroyed the world years ago.

Gorin, an honorable Stone Troll is sent on a mission to convince the reluctant Hagan to return to Harquinn, site of that infamous battle. Against all better judgment, Hagan brings his younger and inexperienced brother along on this quest. The journey is wrought with danger and many secrets come to light as minions of Mournenhile hunt them across the landscape. Gathering a handful of companions along the way, including the Elven general Vasparian and Windenn the Woodwarden, Hagan struggles to reach Harquinn before the servants of Mournenhile find him and rid the land of its hero once and for all.

At its heart, this is a story of redemption. Can the ruins of a man’s life truly be rebuilt? Can the hero rid himself of the demons that haunt him and once again have a hand in saving the world from evil?

This trilogy runs about 1100 pages in its entirety and has been favorably compared to the works of Tolkien, Terry Brooks and Robert Jordan.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940045829632
Publisher: William Kenney
Publication date: 04/11/2014
Series: In the Shadow of the Black Sun
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

William Kenney is an American writer of fantasy fiction. He writes mainly dark epic fantasy and has also written in the horror genre. Kenney began writing while in high school, trying his hand at novels in the science fiction and fantasy genre. After reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien, he began to focus on epic fantasy. In the year 2000 Kenney wrote A Dream of Storms, the first book of the In the Shadow of the Black Sun trilogy. This book was eventually published in July of 2011, with its sequel Shards of S'Darin being released a year later. 2014 saw the release of the final book in the trilogy called Mournenhile. William Kenney has also written 2 books in his Tales of Embremere series aimed at younger readers. Book one is entitled Embremere, with Return to Embremere being its sequel. Kenney has also published a horror novella called Undergrowth as an homage to H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe, a horror novel called Ingheist and Die Dead Enough, a story of the zombie apocalypse. William Kenney is also an accomplished artist, having painted the covers to his own books as well as many by independent authors. He currently lives in the St. Louis area, is married and has two children. Twitter- @WilliamJKenney Blog- Writers Circle- Visit the Facebook page for A Dream of Storms at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews