Independence Jump Up Calypso [Expanded Edition]

Independence Jump Up Calypso [Expanded Edition]


$21.84 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.84, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, April 17


Before the rise of ska in the late '50s/early '60s, calypso was the music of choice in Jamaica. Calypso originated in Trinidad, but it had no problem spreading to Jamaica. One Jamaican who easily made the transition from calypso to ska and reggae was a DJ/label owner, Duke Reid, who put out some calypso singles in the '50s before focusing mainly on ska and reggae in the '60s. Reid revisited calypso in 1966, when he celebrated Jamaica's independence from Britain with Independence Jump Up Calypso. (Jamaica had become independent in 1962). Most of the songs on this enjoyable album feature Count Lasher, a talented but little known calypso singer, and other noteworthy contributors to the project include trumpeter Baba Brooks, and singer Count Alert. Lasher's noteworthy contributions to the date range from the exuberant "Jump Independently" and the troubling "Hooligans," to the humorously risque "Mufridite" (which warns against marrying a hermaphrodite). Originally, Independence Jump Up Calypso was a ten-song LP focusing on calypso exclusively; but when the French Jet Set label reissued it in 1998, it became a 14-song CD with four bonus tracks by Brooks -- all of them ska.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/16/2019
Label: Imports
UPC: 5013929274037
catalogNumber: 9274037
Rank: 48712


Disc 1

  1. Jump Independently
  2. The Weed
  3. Old Man's Drive
  4. Hooligans
  5. Dog War Jump Up
  6. Bam Bam
  7. Mufridite
  8. In the Park
  9. Hard Times
  10. Seven Guns Alive
  11. I Want to Know
  12. The Teaser
  13. I Want to Take a Chance
  14. Ska Flea
  15. Get Your Feet Moving
  16. Windfall
  17. Whoo Baby
  18. Pink Champagne
  19. No Good Rudy
  20. Sad Movies
  21. Mr. Solo
  22. I Don't Want to Cry
  23. You Promised Love
  24. Superman
  25. If I Didn't Love You
  26. Jezebel
  27. Dog War Jump Up

Disc 2

  1. It's a Rocking Good Way
  2. Danger Man - 007
  3. Why Should I Worry
  4. How Long
  5. Why You Have to Walk This Way
  6. The Army Is Searching
  7. Tom Dooley
  8. Mama Let Her Out
  9. Red Gal Ring
  10. Man Going to Eat Mean
  11. A Little Bit of Heaven
  12. Fight for Your Right
  13. (I Am) Suffering
  14. What Have I Done
  15. Lion of Judah (If I Follow You)
  16. Tender Loving Care
  17. Raindrops
  18. Juvenile Delinquent
  19. The Clock
  20. After a Storm
  21. Shake It
  22. My Mama Told Me
  23. So Long
  24. It's Real
  25. Try Me
  26. Storm Warning
  27. You Should Have Known
  28. My True Confession
  29. Thunderball

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Silvertones   Composer
Miracles   Composer
Upsetters   Composer
Herman Marquis   Composer
Tommy McCook   Composer
Eric "Monty" Morris   Composer
Slickers   Composer
Lester Sterling   Composer
Lyn Taitt   Composer
Justin Hinds & the Dominoes   Composer
Tommy McCook & the Supersonics   Composer
Sensations   Composer
Lloyd & Glen   Composer
Count Alert   Composer
Count Lasher   Composer
Lyn Taitt & The Comets   Composer
Hamlins   Composer
Gloria Crawford   Composer
Joey & Butch   Composer
Lyn Taitt & The Baba Brooks Band   Composer
Count Lasher & Williams   Composer
Tony & Dennis   Composer
Eric Morris   Composer
Baba Brooks Band   Composer
Basil Caral & Group   Composer
Haywood Brice   Composer
Horace Grant & The Playboys   Composer

Customer Reviews