Indivisible by Four: A String Quartet in Pursuit of Harmony

Indivisible by Four: A String Quartet in Pursuit of Harmony

by Arnold Steinhardt

Paperback(First Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


The Guarneri Quartet is fabled for its unique longevity and high-spirited virtuosity. Here is its story from the inside—a story filled with drama, humor, danger, compassion, and, of course, glorious music.

A player who studies and performs the exalted string-quartet repertoire has opted for a very special life. Arnold Steinhardt, tracing his own development as a student, orchestra player, and budding young soloist, gives a touching account of how he and his intrepid colleagues were converted to chamber music despite the daunting odds against success. And he reveals, as no one has before, the intensely difficult process by which—on the battlefield of daily three-hour rehearsals—four individualists master and then overcome the confining demands of ensemble playing.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780374527006
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 06/15/2000
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 610,878
Product dimensions: 5.56(w) x 8.28(h) x 0.88(d)

About the Author

Arnold Steinhardt is the first violinist and a founding member of the Guarneri Quartet. He lives in New York City with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews