Instruments of Christ: Reflections on the Peace Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Instruments of Christ: Reflections on the Peace Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

by Albert Haase O.F.M.

Paperback(New Edition)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Through one of the world’s most beloved and inspirational prayers, the Peace Prayer, Franciscan priest Albert Haase challenges us to look beyond ourselves and toward God, and henceforth all of humanity. In this compact but compelling book Haase reflects on each phrase of the Peace Prayer, offering us ideas about what it means to truly be a peacemaker and “Little Christ.” Haase explores six seeds he says we need to sow if Easter Peace is to blossom in this world—love, forgiveness, faith, hope, light and joy. Stories from the author’s life as well as those of friends punctuate each reflection and encourage us to plant these seeds of virtue and send forth the eternal message that we all desire and need peace in our daily lives.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780867165722
Publisher: Franciscan Media
Publication date: 09/28/2004
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 81
Sales rank: 341,756
Product dimensions: 5.12(w) x 7.25(h) x 0.21(d)

About the Author

ALBERT HAASE, O.F.M., author of the award-winning Swimming in the Sun: Discovering the Lord’s Prayer With Francis of Assisi and Thomas Merton and the co-author of Enkindled: Holy Spirit Holy Gifts (St. Anthony Messenger Press), holds a doctorate in historical theology from Fordham University. For eleven years, he ministered among the Chinese in mainland China. He resides currently in the United States.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1Lord and Divine Master7
Chapter 2Instruments of Peace14
Chapter 3Sowing Love Amid Hatred20
Chapter 4Sowing Pardon Amid Injury27
Chapter 5Sowing Faith Amid Doubt34
Chapter 6Sowing Hope Amid Despair40
Chapter 7Sowing Light Amid Darkness47
Chapter 8Sowing Joy Amid Sadness53
Chapter 9Consoling, Understanding and Loving60
Chapter 10In Giving, We Receive67
Chapter 11In Dying We Are Born to Eternal Life74
Conclusion: Amen80

Customer Reviews