Pub. Date:
Insurgent Country, Vol. 1: For a Life of Sin

Insurgent Country, Vol. 1: For a Life of Sin


$11.42 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.42, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


Insurgent Country, Vol. 1: For a Life of Sin is the first in a collection of compilations featuring artists who perform country and American roots music and who are uncompromising in their dedication to each individual musical vision. The term "insurgent country" has been used to describe a growing faction of artists who reach back to traditional foundations, bringing them forward and injecting their own personal styles. The first volume primarily focuses upon an already-established Chicago country and roots community that dates back to the 1920s when the WLS National Barn Dance began its reign. Although the first volume is the weakest of the three, it's definitely worth a listen, with a good cross-section of the '90s alternative country scene, including strong tracks by Robbie Fulks ("Cigarette State") and Freakwater ("Drunk Friend"), as well as the legendary Chicago stalwarts the Sundowners ("Rockin' Spot").

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/23/1996
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302000121
catalogNumber: 20001
Rank: 126801


  1. Way Out West
  2. Over the Cliff
  3. Tragic Woman
  4. Drunk Friend
  5. Cry Baby
  6. Cigarette State
  7. Rockin' Spot
  8. That Truck
  9. Doghouse
  10. Every Kinda Everything
  11. Moving Furniture Around
  12. If She Wasn't on Blocks
  13. Flannel Boogie
  14. Suburbia
  15. Sucker for a Trucker
  16. Hole in the Ground
  17. You Don't Know What Lonesome Is

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mekons   Track Performer
Freakwater   Track Performer
New Duncan Imperials   Track Performer
Brian Doherty   Drums,Background Vocals
Bottle Rockets   Track Performer
Earl Carter   Bass
Paul Foglino   Bass
Goodtime   Drums
Jon Langford   Guitar,Vocals
Tony Maimone   Bass Guitar
Tom Meltzer   Electric Guitar
Skipper   Bass,Vocals
Texas Rubies   Track Performer
Tom Ray   Bass
Chris Russell   Drums
Brian Henneman   Guitar,Vocals
Captain Stubby & The Buccaneers   Background Vocals
Handsome Family   Track Performer
Wink O'Bannon   Track Performer
Brett Sparks   Guitar,Vocals
Rennie Sparks   Bass
Mark Ortmann   Drums
Mike Werner   Drums
Tom Parr   Guitar
Andon T. Davis   Guitar,Mandolin
Michael Colligan   Clarinet
Jim Becker   Dobro,Mandolin
Kelly Kessler   Guitar
Peter Houpt   Guitar,Vocals
Perry LaFine   Drums
Tracy Dear   Mandolin
Brigid Murphy   Vocals

Technical Credits

Freakwater   Producer
Steve Albini   Engineer
John Keane   Producer
Jon Langford   Producer,Cover Art
Lloyd Maines   Producer
Rob Miller   Executive Chief
Martin Stebbing   Engineer
Brad Wood   Producer
David Feller   Engineer
Riptones   Producer
Mike Werner   Artwork
Brendan Burke   Producer
Grey Parker   Producer
Albert Hall   Producer
Dave Trumfio   Producer
Marc Gordon   Producer

Customer Reviews