Into Paradise

Into Paradise

by Sissel Kyrkjebø


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Into Paradise

It's no secret that Scandinavian crossover diva Sissel has one of the loveliest voices in any genre of music today -- her previous solo albums, and of course her appearance on the Titanic soundtrack, have proven this many times over. But Into Paradise really sets her apart as an artist of taste and refinement. There's no hint of the bombast or bluster that mars a lot of classical crossover releases; Sissel trusts to the beauty of this music -- and of her angelic voice -- and the result is a wonder of delightful simplicity. Just over half the melodies are borrowed from classical favorites, all of them well chosen for Sissel's interpretation: Villa-Lobos's "Bachianas Brasileiras" and Albinoni's "Adagio" feature long, lyrically sustained lines that float blissfully from her vocal cords, while the operatic numbers by Purcell and Mascagni bring out a more expressive quality in her singing, and Bach's "Wachet Auf" gets a lightly jazzy treatment that calls the Swingle Singers to mind. Most of the other tracks are traditional Norwegian songs, all of them memorable and emotionally resonant, and for a final touch of Scandinavian authenticity, Sissel closes the album with ABBA's quietly touching "Like an Angel Passing Through."

Product Details

Release Date: 02/14/2006
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947631309
catalogNumber: 000614002
Rank: 56931

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sissel Kyrkjebø   Primary Artist,Vocals
Kjetil Bjerkestrand   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Harpsichord
Hans Fredrik Jakobsen   Flute
Hans Fredrik Jacobsen   Flute
Helge Norbakken   Percussion
Gjermund Silset   Bass
Ashild Nyhus   Viola
Bernt Rune Stray   Guitar
Sidsel Walstad   Harp
Havard Gimse   Piano
Hallgrim Bratberg   Guitar
Det Norske Jentekor   Choir, Chorus
Øyvind Gimse   Cello
Torjus Vierli   Piano
Johannes Wilk   Harp
Trondheim Soloists (Trondheimsolistene)   Strings
Tino Fjeldli   Violin
Hallgrim Bratberg   Guitar
Hallgrim Bratberg   Guitar
Steffen Blindheim   Oboe
Tino Fjeldli   Violin

Technical Credits

Tomaso Albinoni   Composer
Pietro Mascagni   Composer
Henry Purcell   Composer
Heitor Villa-Lobos   Composer
Kjetil Bjerkestrand   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Andersson   Lyricist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews