Into the Sun

Into the Sun

by Robben FordRobben Ford


$10.14 $10.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.14, Original price is $10.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 9


Continuing his latter-day renaissance, Robben Ford widens his palette on Into the Sun. The very title suggests this 2015 album is bright and open, and it is. There's a nice, relaxed groove to this record as Ford plays as much Southern-fried soul and funky jazz as he does blues. All of these sounds intersect at Ford's sweet spot. He's a sly, versatile guitarist who can dip into a variety of styles without seeming like a dilettante, and on Into the Sun, that includes the lazy acoustic opener "Rose of Sharon," which finds its counterpart on "Justified," a backporch blues duet with Keb' Mo'. Other guests are here -- ZZ Ward shines on "Breath of Me," Warren Haynes spars on "High Heels and Throwing Things," Sonny Landreth shows up for "So Long 4 U" -- a sign of Ford's generosity. Then again, this wide array of players fit neatly into Ford's soulful style, which is unified by its love of rhythm & blues -- meaning both the groove and the long, yet unflashy, solos -- and open-hearted vibe.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2015
Label: Provogue
UPC: 0819873011460
catalogNumber: 30114
Rank: 167557


  1. Rose of Sharon
  2. Day of the Planets
  3. Howlin' At the Moon
  4. Rainbow Cover
  5. Justified
  6. Breath of Me
  7. High Heels and Throwing Things
  8. Cause of War
  9. So Long 4 U
  10. Same Train
  11. Stone Cold Heaven

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Robben Ford   Primary Artist,Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Jim Cox   Organ,Piano
Herman Matthews   Drums
David Piltch   Bass
Keb' Mo'   Vocals
Wes Little   Percussion,Drums
Toss Panos   Drums
Robert Randolph   Lap Steel Guitar
Brian Allen   Electric Bass,Upright Bass
Tyler Bryant   Electric Guitar
Kim Flemming   Background Vocals
ZZ Ward   Vocals
Gale Mayes   Background Vocals
Kyle Swan   Harmonica,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Robben Ford   Composer
Niko Bolas   Engineer
Pete Wasner   Composer
Gabe Ford   Composer
Roy Koch   Art Direction
Roger Alan Nichols   Engineer
Kyle Swan   Composer
Cozmo Flow   Producer

Customer Reviews