Introduction to the Hebrew Bible, Third Edition - The Deuteronomistic History Third Edition

Introduction to the Hebrew Bible, Third Edition - The Deuteronomistic History Third Edition

by John Collins


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 22


John J. Collins's Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is one of the most popular introductory textbooks in colleges and seminary classrooms. Enriched by decades of classroom teaching, it is aimed explicitly at motivated students, regardless of their previous exposure to the Bible or faith commitments.

The third edition is presented in a new and engaging format with new maps and images. An index has been added to the volume for the first time.

In order to enhance classroom use, Collins's major text has now been divided into four volumes, one for each major part of the Hebrew Bible. This volume focuses on the Deuteronomistic History. Here, Collins explores the books of Joshua through 2 Kings, the main account of Israel's history.

The volume also contains the introduction to Collins's major text and is now available with even more student-friendly features, including charts, maps, photographs, chapter summaries, and bibliographies for further reading.

Collins presents the current state of historical, archaeological, and literary understandings of the biblical text and engages the student in questions of significance and interpretation for the contemporary world.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781506446431
Publisher: Augsburg Fortress, Publishers
Publication date: 04/15/2018
Pages: 156
Product dimensions: 7.50(w) x 9.25(h) x 0.00(d)

About the Author

John J. Collins is Holmes Professor of Old Testament Criticism and Interpretation at Yale Divinity School and author of many works, including, from Fortress Press, Encounters with Biblical Theology (2005), Does the Bible Justify Violence? (2004), and Daniel (Hermeneia, 1994).

Table of Contents

Maps 6

Illustrations 7

Publisher's Note 8

Abbreviations 9

Introduction: What Are the Hebrew Bible and Old Testament? 11

The Deuteronomistic History

1 The Book of Joshua 39

2 Judges 63

3 First Samuel 79

4 Second Samuel 93

5 I Kings I-II: Solomon and the Divided Monarchy 109

6 I Kings 12-2 Kings 25: Tales of Prophets and the End of the Kingdoms of Israel and Judah 129

Glossary 153

Index 155

Picture Acknowledgments 156

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews