Invasion of the Booty Snatchers

Invasion of the Booty Snatchers

by Parlet


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Invasion of the Booty Snatchers

Parlet's second album, Invasion of the Booty Snatchers, found Parliament/Funkadelic leader George Clinton supervising a new edition of the female trio. Jeanette Washington was still on board, but this time, she joined forces with Shirley Hayden and Janice Evans instead of Debbie Wright and Mallia Franklin. However, Invasion of the Booty Snatchers (whose title is based on the 1950s sci-fi/horror movie Invasion of the Body Snatchers) isn't a radical departure from Parlet's first album, Pleasure Principle. Clinton (who produced this 1979 LP with Ron Dunbar) still goes for variety, and Parlet's sophomore album is as unpredictable as their first. While goofy numbers like "No Rump to Bump" and "Huff-N-Puff" are very Parliament-sounding, "Ridin' High" (a minor hit) and the glossy "Booty Snatchers" have more of a disco influence -- "Ridin' High," in fact, almost sounds like a marriage of P-Funk and Chic. Meanwhile, the pleasing "Don't Ever Stop (Lovin' Me, Needin' Me)" is a conventional Northern soul ballad -- conventional by Clinton's standards, that is. As strong as Invasion of the Booty Snatchers is, the LP wasn't a huge multi-platinum seller; many of the P-Funk addicts who bought Parliament and Funkadelic's albums religiously didn't spend a lot of dollars on Parlet. Nonetheless, Invasion of the Booty Snatchers is arguably the group's finest and most impressive release.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/30/2013
Label: Real Gone Music
UPC: 0848064001799
catalogNumber: 400179

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Parlet   Primary Artist
Bernie Worrell   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Tim Moore   Guitar
Bootsy Collins   Bass,Guitar,Drums
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Guitar
Glen Goins   Guitar
Michael Hampton   Guitar
Joel Johnson   Keyboards
Manon Saulsby   Keyboards
Garry Shider   Guitar
Carl "Butch" Small   Percussion
Greg Thomas   Horn
Ernestro Wilson   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Shirley Hayden   Group Member
Cheryl James   Vocals
Jerome Ali   Guitar
Janice Evans   Group Member
Gordon Carlton   Guitar,Vocals
Kenny Colton   Drums
Donnie Sterling   Bass,Vocals
Jimmy Ali   Bass
Kevin Oliver   Guitar
Funk   Vocals
Gary Cooper   Drums,Vocals
Jeanette Washington   Group Member
Ron Ford   Vocals
Robert Johnson   Vocals
Larry Fratangelo   Percussion
Ray Davis   Vocals
Jeff Bunn   Bass
Malla Franklin   Vocals
Janice Carlton   Vocals
Frankie Wadd   Drums
Greg Bover   Horn
Bernie Cowans   Horn

Technical Credits

Pete Bishop   Composer,Engineer
George Clinton   Composer,Producer,Concept
Ronald Dunbar   Composer,Producer
Gerry Estes   Engineer
Glen Goins   Composer
Jim Vitti   Engineer
Tom Vickers   Liner Notes,Photo Courtesy
Donnie Sterling   Composer
Mike Lacopelli   Engineer
Gordon Anderson   Reissue Producer
Ronald Edwards   Illustrations,Cover Design
Gary Cooper   Composer
Greg Ward   Engineer
Nick Collenan   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews