Invisible Empires

Invisible Empires

by Sara GrovesSara Groves


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Produced by Steve Hindalong (Leeland, City on a Hill, Sixpence None the Richer), award-winning CCM singer/songwriter Sara Groves' tenth studio album, Invisible Empires, opens with "Miracles," a lush, slow-building, midtempo ballad that vaguely echoes Sarah McLachlan's "Possession." Blessed with a voice to match the ethereal music she conjures up, Groves' piano-based songs of love, redemption, and everyday trial and error seek a higher power, yet reside in the real world, which is something that has consistently set her apart from the rest of the CCM crowd since her 2001 debut. Her willingness to tackle subjects other than textbook worship clichés shines brightest when she chooses to merge the two, as she does on the soaring "Eyes on the Prize," which fuses a civil rights anthem into an uplifting call to non-violent, spiritual arms. Groves' penchant for capturing the cathartic weight of intimate moments is on full display here, and her winning melodies and effortless delivery only help to the sweeten the pot.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/18/2011
Label: Fair Trade Services
UPC: 0736211599797
catalogNumber: 15997
Rank: 123057

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sara Groves   Primary Artist,Piano
Greg Nelson   Choir, Chorus
David Davidson   Violin
Steve Hindalong   Percussion,Glockenspiel
Jeremy Bose   Trumpet,French Horn
Stephen Leiweke   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Loops
Tyler Burkum   Electric Guitar
Jill Phillips   Background Vocals
Marc Byrd   Electric Guitar
Ben Shive   Keyboards
Kevin Thompson   Choir, Chorus
William Nelson   Choir, Chorus
Zach Miller   Drums,Loops
Andy Gullahorn   Background Vocals
Aaron Fabbrini   Bass
Matt Slocum   Cello
Daiquan Nelson   Choir, Chorus
Khalil Thompson   Choir, Chorus
Pastor Trevor Rubingh   Choir, Chorus
Marlon Brightman   Choir, Chorus
Markeya Timmons   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Steve Hindalong   Producer
Alice Wine   Composer
Wayne Brezinka   Illustrations
Stephen Leiweke   Producer,Engineer
Jill Phillips   Composer
Sara Groves   Composer
Ben Shive   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Alli Rogers   Composer
Andy Gullahorn   Composer
Troy Groves   Executive Producer
Bart Howard   Composer
Daniel Steele   Engineer

Customer Reviews