by Dew-Scented


$9.28 $9.99 Save 7% Current price is $9.28, Original price is $9.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.



German thrash group Dew-Scented are coming up on their 20th anniversary, having formed in 1992. They haven't changed a bit over the course of eight studio albums, though -- just as each one's title begins with the letter "I," each one offers a punishing but clean and melodic thrash sound. They're not aiming for crossover with clean choruses, but rather pursuing the same pounding, headbanging sound as Arch Enemy, the Haunted, and the Crown. Guitarists Michael Borchers and Martin Walczak carve out riffs like lumberjacks sculpting with chainsaws, as bassist Alexander Pahl and drummer Marc-Andrée Dieken keep the rhythm pounding endlessly forward. Vocalist Leif Jensen has a hoarse, bloody-throated roar that's frequently incomprehensible, but not unlike that of Tomas Lindberg, who's sort of the paradigm for this kind of thing, and it suits the punishing music perfectly. Both guitarists make their studio debut with this record, having joined the group in 2008, and Borchers' solos are fluid and arise organically out of the songs rather than being mere excuses for squealing whammy-bar abuse. Like many thrash acts in the 21st century, Dew-Scented don't write instantly memorable songs, but heard as part of a live set, any track here (save the opening and closing instrumentals) would turn the pit into a surging mass of superheated colliding flesh, and that's the point of the exercise, after all.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/2010
Label: Prosthetic Records
UPC: 0656191009720
catalogNumber: 10097
Rank: 128438

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dew-Scented   Primary Artist
Leif Jensen   Vocals,Group Member
Alexander Pahl   Bass,Group Member
Michael Borchers   Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Martin Walczak   Guitar,Group Member
Marc-Andree Dieken   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Leif Jensen   Composer,Lyricist
Dew-Scented   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Bjoern Goosses   Illustrations
Jörg Uken   Producer,Engineer
Alexander Pahl   Composer
Michael Borchers   Composer
Martin Walczak   Composer
Marc-Andree Dieken   Composer
Tim Klöcker   Band Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews