Is That All There Is?

Is That All There Is?

by William King

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.49 $8.99 Save 6% Current price is $8.49, Original price is $8.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


It is boom time in Dublin, and Philip and Sam, a professional couple in banking and advertising gorged on vertiginous success, buy a run-down monastery in a wealthy suburb. As they renovate their statement home and throw lavish parties to consolidate their social standing, cracks begin to appear in the designer fixtures, mirroring the disintegration of their marriage and a once-solid moral scaffolding. William King pierces the surface of this era of glitz and easy credit, following the contours of Ireland's bubble-and-burst through a vivid cast of characters whose stories interweave - the unsavoury banker Sharkey, a retired doctor, a maverick priest, neglected teenagers, and trophy wives in trophy cars. With the financial tsunami sweeping across the Atlantic, Ireland's economy unravels, and Philip, Sam and the feral Sharkey confront the true cost of their sacrifices and choices. Praise for Leaving Ardglass King offers a richly textured and deeply felt portrait of a society in flux and of individuals ensnared in their fallible humanity and helpless in the face of time. The dubious privilege of moral judgment is left to the reader in this outstanding novel. JOHN BOLAND , Irish Independent A finely written and brave book that throws up uncomfortable truths and interesting parallels between hidden worlds, driven by ambitious men determined to survive. DERMOT BOLGER, The Sunday Business Post

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781843514053
Publisher: Lilliput Press, Limited, The
Publication date: 03/15/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
File size: 569 KB

About the Author

William King was born in Kilflynn, County Kerry in 1945. He studied at University College Dublin and Holy Cross College, Clonliffe and is pariosh priest at Corpus Christi Drumcondra. He is the author of novels The Strangled Impulse (1997, 2014), Swansong (2001), Leaving Ardglass (2008) and Is That All There Is (2013)

Customer Reviews