Isaac Stern: My First 79 Years, A Musical Celebration

Isaac Stern: My First 79 Years, A Musical Celebration

by Isaac Stern


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Isaac Stern: My First 79 Years, A Musical Celebration

Isaac Stern was a star in America's musical firmament for decades as a teacher, an administrator, and -- most dramatically -- the savior of Carnegie Hall. But as this stimulating sampler reminds us, Stern was first and foremost a violinist. The disc begins with an excerpt from his first Sony album, a Beethoven violin sonata recorded in 1945, when Stern's musical personality was already present: highly willful, with a swaggering virtuosity that vanquishes the listener. In the company of musical partners like cellist Pablo Casals and fiddler David Oistrakh, both heard here, he was relatively restrained and played with admirable musicality. A standout of this compact retrospective is a winsome version of Dvorák's "Humoresque," conducted by star violist Milton Katims. The program ends with a snazzy performance of the finale from Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto, recorded in 1958 when Stern was playing at his peak. As the CD's subtitle says, music making like this is something to celebrate.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/1999
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998904927
catalogNumber: 89049


  1. Sonata for violin & piano No. 7 in C minor ("Eroica") Op. 30/2: Allegro con brio  - Ludwig van Beethoven  - Isaac Stern  - Alexander Zakin  - Rolando Cobo
  2. Piano Trio No. 1 in B major, Op. 8: Allegro  - Johannes Brahms  - Myra Hess  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  3. Double Violin Concerto, for 2 violins, strings & continuo in A minor (L'estro armonico No. 8), Op. 3/8, RV 522: Allegro  - Antonio Vivaldi  - David Oistrakh  - Eugene Ormandy  -  Philadelphia Orchestra  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  4. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61: Rondo. Allegro  - Ludwig van Beethoven  - Leonard Bernstein  -  New York Philharmonic  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  5. Humoresque No. 7 for piano in G flat major, B. 187/7 (Op. 101/7) - arranged for violin & orchestra  - Antonin Dvorák  -  Columbia Symphony Orchestra  - Milton Katims  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  6. Piano Trio in D major ("Ghost") Op. 70/1: Allegro vivace e con brio  - Ludwig van Beethoven  - Eugene Istomin  - Leonard Rose  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  7. Sinfonia concertante for violin, viola, and orchestra in E flat major, K. 364: Andante  - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  - Daniel Barenboim  -  English Chamber Orchestra  - Isaac Stern  - Pinchas Zukerman  - Rolando Cobo
  8. Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19: Scherzo. Vivacissimo  - Sergey Prokofiev  -  New York Philharmonic  - Zubin Mehta  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  9. Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25: Rondo alla zingarese. Presto  - Johannes Brahms  - Emanuel Ax  - Jaime Laredo  - Yo-Yo Ma  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  10. Quartet, for flute, violin, cello & continuo in E minor (Tafelmusik III/2), TWV 43:e2: Allegro  - Georg Philipp Telemann  - Jean-Pierre Rampal  - Mstislav Rostropovich  - Matthias Spaeter  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo
  11. Liebesleid for violin & piano "Love's Sorrow"  - Fritz Kreisler  - János Rolla  - Isaac Stern  -  Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra  - Rolando Cobo
  12. Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64: Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace  - Felix Mendelssohn  - Eugene Ormandy  -  Philadelphia Orchestra  - Isaac Stern  - Rolando Cobo

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews