Pub. Date:
Island Woman: A Musical Journey to the Caribbean & Mexico

Island Woman: A Musical Journey to the Caribbean & Mexico

by Marty RobbinsMarty Robbins


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


Bear Family's A Musical Journey to the Carribean & Mexico contains all of Marty Robbins' calypso, Jamaican, and Latin experiments, from "Calypso Vacation" and "Calypso Girl" to "Bahama Mama," "Tahitain Boy," "La Borrachita" and "Adios Marquita Linda." Robbins did have a flair for this material -- indeed, the very best songs here are quite enjoyable -- but he often is saddled with mediocre material. Furthermore, Bear Family's quest for completeness means there are three versions of "Girl from Spanish Two" and two versions of "Kingston Girl" on the single disc, which helps make the disc rather tedious listening for anyone but dedicated fans. Nevertheless, those dedicated fans will be delighted with the collection, since this music has rarely been in print since its original release.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/10/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127155719
catalogNumber: 15571
Rank: 169391


  1. Girl from Spanish Town
  2. Kingston Girl
  3. Sweet Bird of Paradise
  4. Jamaica Farewell
  5. Calypso Girl
  6. Back to Montego Bay
  7. Girl from Spanish Town
  8. Kingston Girl
  9. A Woman Gets Her Way
  10. The Mango Song
  11. Calypso Vacation
  12. Blue Sea
  13. Bahama Mama
  14. Tahitian Boy
  15. Native Girl
  16. Girl from Spanish Town
  17. Yours (Quiereme Mucho)
  18. You Belong to My Heart
  19. La Borrachita
  20. La Paloma
  21. Yours (Quiereme Mucho)
  22. Adios Marquita Linda
  23. Maria Elena
  24. Amor
  25. Camelia

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marty Robbins   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Grady Martin   Guitar,Conga,Leader
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Wayne Moss   Guitar
Louis Dunn   Drums
William Whitney Pursell   Piano,Drums,Vibes
Bob Moore   Bass
William Paul Ackerman   Drums

Technical Credits

Hank Davis   Liner Notes
Gonzalo Roig   Composer
Bob Johnston   Producer
Frank Jones   Producer
Don Law   Producer
Jack Pruett   Composer
Bill Johnson   Composer
Phil Wells   Tape Comparison
Hoffmann Nienburg   Artwork
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer
Augustin Rodriguez   Composer
Jack Sherr   Composer
Don Winters   Composer

Customer Reviews