Islands of Gold

Islands of Gold

by Grant Hyde

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $12.72 Save 14% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $12.72. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

In the tradition of Wilbur Smith and Patrick O'Brian comes the next sensational South Seas adventure.

The year is 1796, and three and a half years have passed since Captain Lightfoot and his crew helped restore justice and peace to Tonga. It is time for them to return to their colony in New Holland, and then on to Mother England.

But fate plays strange tricks in this vast ocean, even on the true of heart, and Lightfoot and his Polynesian crew find themselves facing an old enemy.

Meanwhile, far off in the Torres Strait, a Dutch East India merchant ship is wrecked on an uncharted reef. When the captain and officers are murdered by the mutinous crew, a fortune in gold and jewels locked away in the ship's belly goes up for grabs.

As fate brings these two crews together, Lightfoot, Sevesi, Hurley and Hiki will encounter the ruthless Company men, warring Aborigines, brutal Portuguese authorities and man-eating crocodiles. With the odds stacked against them, will the crew of the Royal make it out alive?

Islands of Gold is a mesmerising tale of greed, betrayal, gold and violence set in a world of savage beauty.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781742621418
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publication date: 01/01/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 416
File size: 429 KB

About the Author

Born and raised in Sydney's Maroubra, Grant Hyde first worked as a clerk for his bookmaker father until he was graded with the NRL's Eastern Suburbs Roosters (Sydney Roosters) in 1989. He went on to work as a hotel manager, gym instructor, building project manager and real estate agent, all with varying degrees of success. Aside from writing, he is currently a part-time Qantas baggage handler, coach to the Maroubra Lions Rugby League team and personal trainer. He lives in Pagewood, Sydney, with his wife Melissa and daughter Charlotte.

Customer Reviews