Isolation

Isolation

by Travis Thrasher
3.3 19

Paperback

$9.60 $13.99 Save 31% Current price is $9.6, Original price is $13.99. You Save 31%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Isolation by Travis Thrasher


By the time Stephanie Miller realizes her brother is in serious trouble itâ⿬⿢s too late. The darkness of their past has invaded their future. Now, wanting only relief from the secrets haunting her life, she and her family seek refuge in an isolated mountain cabin. It seems the perfect hideawayâ⿬¦until an unexpected visitor shows up.

Armed with newfound faith and facing the greatest crisis of her life, she determines to overcome the evil influence of her parentsâ⿬⿢ lifestyle. But losing her brother in the process is not an acceptable option. With time running out and darkness gaining strength, Stephanie and her family are about to escape when a winter storm blocks their only path.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780446505543
Publisher: FaithWords
Publication date: 09/12/2008
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Born in Knoxville, TN, Travis Thrasher knew in third grade he wanted to be a writer and wrote his first novel in ninth grade. Tyndale House Publishers signed his first novel, The Promise Remains, which released in 2000. Today, Travis has nine books in print. He and his wife, Sharon, live with their daughter in Chicago, IL.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Isolation 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Frank_Redman More than 1 year ago
Most novels are written for the purpose of providing entertainment for the reader. That's fine, of course, we like to be entertained. We want to escape into the universe the author has created for us, to remove our cognitive self from its daily toil with life and allow our imagination to be immersed in the story. Some novels also contain solid themes or good morals, but the endgame is still about entertaining. Every once in a while a novel comes along that has both a riveting story and also a powerful message to share. I am thankful to state ISOLATION is such a novel. "A family on the edge. A house with too many secrets. A relentless killer." The Miller family is taking time off after being missionaries to a small village in New Guinea. The village is struggling against an intense demonic presence and incidents that occurred before the Millers left are presented to us as the narrative unfolds. The Millers move into an enormous, 40,000 square-foot lodge in the beautiful mountains of North Carolina, a dream home provided for missionaries on furlough. Their excitement soon begins to ebb as baleful discoveries are made, and a foreboding, dark presence bears down on them. The Millers are thrown into a warzone involving the mind and spirit. This spiritual warfare challenges the existence of the core of their faith as they struggle to deal with what is real, what is imagined, and what they should and shouldn't believe in. It is also a wonderful depiction of human nature, even missionaries struggle with faith. I respect Thrasher for not attempting to answer our questions about faith. Faith by its very definition means to believe in something we cannot understand. Why isn't God listening to me? Why isn't He dealing in my time zone instead of some infinite, ethereal semblance of time? There are no sermons on the existence of God. Nor does Thrasher try to answer the age-old question of why God allows bad things to happen to good people. The characters are well-developed and I quickly discovered I empathized with each one of them and their specific fears. I liked the way Thrasher bounced in and out of narration and character thought, at times even narrating in third person and interjecting a thought from the character's perspective in midsentence. The dialog was easy and flowed well. The creepy house is a character in itself, creating a perfect setting for the novel. Elements of the story may seem familiar to readers of Stephen King's THE SHINING. Thrasher even jabs at the resemblance by referencing THE SHINING in the story. But ISOLATION is a much deeper and even more frightening story. If you've based your whole life on believing in God, then come face to face with demons whose powers claim victory on your lack of faith-that's scary. The horror elements in the novel are not solely faith-based fears. There is murder, gore, evidence of ritualistic sacrifice and torture. None of which is excessive, but Thrasher does a commendable job of staying true to the horror genre. The demons are terrifying and the house is disturbing. But the story is good. [Rating: 1-5 Stars] Plot: 5 Character: 5 Dialog: 5 Setting: 5 Theme: 5 www.FictionAddict.com
Amaroq More than 1 year ago
I have read the reviews and thought this book sounded awsome so I bought it. BIG MISTAKE! This book is boreing. It doesnt make you think at all. It doesnt make you affraid of the shadows like someone else said. At the end a kid dies. Hes dead for a cupple hours and all of a sudden God decides to bring him back to life... NO!! And another thing was the bad guy was posessed and they prayed and he died... NO!!! This book sucks! If you want a GREAT book Read John Dies At The End.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If "christian fiction," bad writing, and ripping off Stephen King aren't what you're looking for, then stay away from this ridiculously awful excuse of a book. The only way this one even earns a 1 rating is if it's read for laughs.
Suznotu More than 1 year ago
It's The Shining, with no character development. Stephan King's his inspiration: Really? As stated in another customer, the book more than borders on plagarism. 'Christian Lit' - Really? Depression & doubt plague the main characters, then they are 'rescued' by angels & 'escape' death? an utter waste of time.
IAmHuman More than 1 year ago
I own this book, and thought it would be really good. It looked creepy and awesome, but I was disappointed. He mentions that Stephen King is his inspiration,and you can tell. It's exactly like The Shining. If you look at Ghostwriter, you can see it's a lot like Secret Window. I have not read it, and it looks creepy and good, but I have a feeling it's going to be another copy. His heart's in the right place, but he's just not very original.
ruby07 More than 1 year ago
As a huge Thrasher fan, I was excited to read his latest. Isolation has a darker plot and message than some of his other books, but as always, has a nice uplifting twist at the end. Isolation continues to demonstrate Mr. Thrasher's ability for writing across genre lines. Isolation is a very good combination of suspense and faith.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Warning: Do NOT read this book into the late night hours, it will seriously creep you out and make you wonder what every single noise in your house is, and making it extremely difficult to sleep without thinking about what you have read. If you love being scared right to the end of a great suspense thriller with a wicked twist, then by all means pick this one up. It was a rough night last night after I read it just before bed. It is definitely a novel you won't be able to put down. From the first to the last page, the suspense only intensifies and you have to keep reading it to know how it will all turn out. I love that Travis Thrasher writes novels like this, because before becoming a solid believer in Jesus, these are the kinds of books I read. Not the slasher novels, but the ones dealing with the supernatural world, because somewhere in the back of your mind, you know that it is all possibly true and it could and has happened. This is why these novels and movies work so well to their target audience group. This one is about the Miller family who has recently returned from a missions trip in Papua New Guinea and has come away from that place forever change and a bit separated at the seams. James Miller and his wife Stephanie are feeling the strains of being married and coming back after what they dealt with regarding the supernatural evil in the village where they served. Is it possible that they simply didn't leave it all behind, or is there another more deeply buried reason from Stephanie's pasts that are causing her to have the most unreal nightmares of seeing things in her home that she swears is real, only to come to find out she's been sleepwalking. It is causing a division in the family even among the children that is bringing fear into their home. James learns about a lodge nestled away up in the Smokey Mountains that is being designed for us for missionary families returning from their trips as a way of getting back to the real world and the 45,000 square foot mansion is just waiting for them to be the first family to try it. The only other people staying there are the caregivers of the lodge an elderly couple by the name of the Petersons. The only restriction is that the north wing is locked as the original owners strive to move some of the personal belongings that remain in the lodge. Sounds like the perfect retreat right? Well you'll just have to join the family to see how it all works out in the end. I received Isolation by Travis Thrasher compliments of the author, himself, as he knows what a huge fan I am of his others series like Solitary and the Books of Marvella. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review, aside from a free copy of this novel and the opinions are strictly my own. Fans of Stephen King, Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti will absolutely have to pick this one up. It is definitely a 5 out of 5 in the way of suspense, horror and all the elements that readers love when they pick up a book like this. They want to be scared right to the end, and the part that I love about Travis Thrasher's writing style is he doles out pieces of suspense a small bit at a time, so you seriously don't know what is coming or what lies behind the locked doors and secret passages in the lodge known simply as Edge Hill.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CTLadyAP More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be too long and drawn out. Good plot line, but the real action doesn't come till the last 50 pages! Left me disapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Calebsmumma More than 1 year ago
I liked this book particularly because it scared the pants off me. Kept you wanting more and nice twist in the end. Did not care about the babling on and on about questioning god and faith from some of the characters, but you can skip it easily without ruining it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I read by travis Thrasher and I am an instant fan. I read thi sbook in 3 days and could not put it down. It is a dark, edge-of-your-seat thriller that deals with the classic battle between good and evil. Warning- this book will make you hypersensitive to all those "little bumps in the night!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago