Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
It Never Ends: A Memoir with Nice Memories!

It Never Ends: A Memoir with Nice Memories!

by Tom Scharpling
It Never Ends: A Memoir with Nice Memories!

It Never Ends: A Memoir with Nice Memories!

by Tom Scharpling

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.49 $15.29 Save 25% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $15.29. You Save 25%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


From cult comedy icon and beloved radio host Tom Scharpling, an inspiring, funny, and thoughtful memoir

It Never Ends is Tom Scharpling’s harrowing memoir of his coming of age, a story he has never told before. It’s the heartbreaking account of his attempt at suicide, two stays in a mental hospital, and the memory-wiping electroshock therapy that saved his life. After his rehabilitation, Scharpling committed himself to reinvention through the world of comedy. In this book he will lift the curtain on the turmoil that still follows him, despite all of his accolades and achievements. In the vein of candid memoirs from comedians like Mike Birbiglia's Sleepwalk with Me and Norm Macdonald's Based on a True Story, It Never Ends is a revealing book by a beloved comedy icon.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781647000325
Publisher: ABRAMS
Publication date: 07/06/2021
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 260,733
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Tom Scharpling is a comedian, television writer, producer, music video director, and radio host. For 18 years, he has hosted the weekly radio call-in comedy program The Best Show with Tom Scharpling. He is also known as the voice of Greg Universe on the hit Cartoon Network animated series Steven Universe. Previously he was a writer-executive producer for the Emmy Award–winning show Monk.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 It Never Ends: The Beginning 1

Chapter 2 So Who is this Tom Scharpling Anyway? 13

Chapter 3 An Evening with the Piano Man 19

Chapter 4 High School 31

Chapter 5 It All Falls Apart 45

Chapter 6 A Story of Unqualified Triumph #1 67

Chapter 7 I Auditioned for the New Monkees 75

Chapter 8 Higher Education 87

Chapter 9 The Birth of Scharpling 103

Chapter 10 A Boy and his Microphone 113

Chapter 11 An Afternoon with Papa Roach 125

Chapter 12 Monk and the Best Show 145

Chapter 13 Best Show Confidential 165

Chapter 14 A Story of Unqualified Triumph #2 193

Chapter 15 My Life as a Player 199

Chapter 16 The Fine Art of Pitching 223

Chapter 17 Revenge of the Show and Death of My Father 237

Chapter 18 A Story of Unqualified Triumph #3 249

Chapter 19 The Death of America and the Almost Death of Tom 255

Chapter 20 It Never Ends: The End 267

Acknowledgments 277

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items