It's Christmas (Kaufmann)

It's Christmas (Kaufmann)

by Jonas KaufmannJonas Kaufmann


$19.16 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.16, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


With It's Christmas!, tenor Jonas Kaufmann delivers something for almost everyone, except perhaps fans of traditional classical holiday repertory: there are standard carols in German and English, traditional German tunes including dialect pieces in which Kaufmann seems quite comfortable, a French carol that calls forth a hitherto unknown voice from the tenor, and, probably controversially, a concluding sequence of American pop songs accompanied by the Cologne Studio Big Band, including, believe it or not, "All I Want for Christmas is You." Other tunes are accompanied by the Mozarteum Orchestra or simple plucked accompaniments. One may be tempted to assert that Kaufmann has, in fact, delivered something for almost everyone not to like, but it's worth giving him a chance and accepting the album on its own terms. The unifying conceit is that the pieces are a personal collection from Kaufmann, and that's believable enough: the album has a flavor of trying to put a personal stamp on a wide variety of material. Notably, Kaufmann performs a couple of hymns ("Silent Night/Stille Nacht") twice; it's as if he's trying to emphasize the range of expression here. Surely listeners will be able to list complaints. Kaufmann's accents in English are multiple, often settling into an unclassifiable mixture of British and American, and the big band arrangements seem a bit forced, as German jazz often may. "All I Want for Christmas is You" is actually among the more successful pop numbers. Nowhere does Kaufmann seem really unconnected to his material, and that's saying a lot here. Those who think their collections of Christmas music have exhausted all the possibilities will find a counterexample in this release.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/20/2020
Label: Sony Masterworks
UPC: 0194397867626
catalogNumber: 19439786762
Rank: 21885


Disc 1

  1. Gloria in Excelsis Deo
  2. Süßer die Glocken nie klingen, for chorus
  3. In Dulci Jubilo, for chorus & ensemble (from the Polyhymnia caduceatrix)
  4. Kommet, ihr Hirten, carol (Bohemian)
  5. Tochter Zion, freue dich (hymn setting after Handel)
  6. Ihr Kinderlein kommet (O Come Little Children), carol (German)
  7. Alle Jahre wieder
  8. Was soll das bedeuten
  9. Vom Himmel hoch, o Englein kommt, carol (German)
  10. Laßt uns froh und munter sein
  11. Leise rieselt der Schnee, carol (German)
  12. Morgen, Kinder, wird's was geben, song
  13. Es ist ein Ros entsprungen (Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming), for chorus
  14. Macht hoch die Tür, carol (German)
  15. Ich steh an deiner Krippen hier, for voice & continuo, BWV 469 (BC F232) (Schemelli Gesangbuch No. 195)
  16. Oh, du fröhliche, oh, du selige (German)
  17. Still, Still, Still (Stille, stille, stille) (Austrian)
  18. O Heiland, reiß die Himmel auf, carol (German)
  19. Kling, Glöchen, klingelingeling, for chorus
  20. Es wird schon gleich dumpa (The Twilight Is Falling) (Austrian)
  21. Maria durch ein Dornwald ging, carol (Blest Mary Wanders through the Thorn)
  22. Im Wald is so staad, for chorus
  23. Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her
  24. O Tannenbaum (O Christmas Tree) (German)
  25. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night)
  26. Still, Still, Still (Stille, stille, stille) (Austrian)

Disc 2

  1. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fideles)
  2. Cantique de Noël, for voice & orchestra ("Minuit, Chrétiens," "O Holy Night")
  3. Gesù bambino
  4. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing (adapted by W. H. Cummings from Mendelssohn's Festgesang for the Gutenberg Festival)
  5. In the Bleak Midwinter, for chorus & organ, H. 73
  6. Nu tändas tusen juleljus (A Thousand Candles Burning Bright), carol
  7. Entre le beouf et l'Ane gris, carol (France)
  8. What Child Is This? (Greensleeves)
  9. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night)
  10. White Christmas, song (from "Holiday Inn")
  11. Jingle Bells
  12. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (for the film Meet Me in St. Louis)
  13. Winter Wonderland
  14. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)
  15. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow
  16. All I Want for Christmas Is You

Album Credits

Customer Reviews