It's Magic: The Songs of Sammy Cahn

It's Magic: The Songs of Sammy Cahn

by Steve Tyrell


$10.12 $11.99 Save 16% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $11.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Vocalist Steve Tyrell began his salute to the great American songbook with the 1999 release A New Standard. The tribute continues with It's Magic: The Songs of Sammy Cahn as Tyrell explores 13 of his favorite songs written by the legendary composer. In a roundabout way, this set not only pays tribute to Sammy Cahn, but also his collaborators. Gene De Paul is musically acknowledged with the inclusion "Teach Me Tonight," a song associated with Frank Sinatra. Seven of the tracks were co-written with Jimmy Van Heusen and have become iconic songbook standards including "The Second Time Around," "Call Me Irresponsible," and "Ain't That a Kick in the Head." They also wrote several tunes made popular by Sinatra: "Come Fly with Me," "The Tender Trap," and "All the Way." Cahn's partnership with Jule Styne is also highlighted with "I Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out to Dry," "It's Been a Long, Long Time," "Saturday Night (Is the Loneliest Night of the Week)," and "I Fall in Love Too Easily." The 2013 release of It's Magic: The Songs of Sammy Cahn coincides with the modern crooner's extended New York gig, succeeding the late vocalist Bobby Short at the Café Carlyle, where the great American songbook has been celebrated for several decades.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/14/2013
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072344679
catalogNumber: 34467
Rank: 52618

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steve Tyrell   Primary Artist
Alan Broadbent   Piano
David Mann   Clarinet,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Lew Soloff   Trumpet,Soloist
Mike Davis   Trombone
Charlie Bisharat   Violin,Soloist
Andy Ezrin   Synthesizer
Lawrence Feldman   Flute,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Stefanie Fife   Cello
David Finck   Bass
Bob Mann   Guitar
John Oddo   Piano
Allan Schwartzberg   Drums
Kevin Winard   Drums
Dave Riekenberg   Baritone Saxophone
Ed Howard   Bass
Quinn Johnson   Piano
Jim Sapporito   Drums
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Tony Kadlek   Trumpet
Jon Allen Synthphony   Strings

Technical Credits

Alan Broadbent   Arranger
Artie Butler   Arranger,Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Don Sebesky   Arranger
Bob Mann   Arranger,Producer
John Oddo   Arranger
Jule Styne   Composer
Steve Tyrell   Producer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff   Engineer
William Claxton   Cover Photo
Jon Allen   Producer,Engineer
Darwin Best   Engineer
Josiah Hendler   Engineer
Peter Harris   Cover Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews