Pub. Date:
It's the Girls!

It's the Girls!

by Bette MidlerBette Midler




Bette Midler's 2014 effort, It's the Girls!, finds the legendary vocalist paying homage to female girl groups from the '40s, '50s, and '60s. Never one to be underestimated, however, Midler also brings the homage full circle with a reworking of TLC's 1995 R&B hit "Waterfalls." Midler's 14th studio album and 25th album overall, It's the Girls! follows up her successful compilation Memories of You. Though it represents an all-new effort in the studio, It's the Girls! nonetheless feels like a retrospective, a return to the cabaret and theatrical style of her early career. Working with veteran producers Marc Shaiman and Scott Riesett (both of whom previously helmed albums by Harry Connick, Jr., Mariah Carey, and others), Midler frames her resonant vocal chops with lush arrangements that, while reverential to the original recordings, certainly allow her to express her own personality on each song. Here, we get Midler's take on such classics of '60s girl group pop as the Ronettes' "Be My Baby," the Chiffons' "One Fine Day," and the Supremes' "You Can't Hurry Love." Elsewhere, she turns her attention to more golden-age vocal group standards like the Andrews Sisters' "Bei Mir Bist du Schön" and the Chordettes' "Mr. Sandman." These are brightly produced songs perfectly suited to Midler's vocal style, stage bravado, and cheeky sense of humor.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2014
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0825646215331
catalogNumber: 545542


  1. Be My Baby
  2. One Fine Day
  3. Bei Mir Bist Du Schon
  4. Baby It's You
  5. Tell Him
  6. He's Sure the Boy I Love
  7. Mr. Sandman
  8. Come and Get These Memories
  9. Too Many Fish In the Sea
  10. Teach Me Tonight
  11. Waterfalls
  12. You Can't Hurry Love
  13. Give Him a Great Big Kiss
  14. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
  15. It's the Girl

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bette Midler   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Larry Goldings   Hammond B3
David Lasley   Background Vocals
Bruce Dukov   Violin,Concert Master,String Quartet
Alex Acuña   Percussion
Debra Byrd   Background Vocals
Elaine Caswell   Background Vocals
Ed Cherney   Vocals
Luis Conte   Percussion
Brian Dembow   Viola,String Quartet
George Doering   Guitar,Mandolin,Ukulele
Julie Gigante   Violin,String Quartet
John Goux   Guitar
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Dan Higgins   Clarinet,Saxophone,Soloist
Greg Huckins   Baritone Saxophone
Randy Kerber   Piano
Bill Liston   Tenor Saxophone
Doug Livingston   Lap Steel Guitar
Tommy Morgan   Harmonica,Jaw Harp
Robin Olson   Violin
Dean Parks   Guitar
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Larry Saltzman   Guitar,Mandolin
Marc Shaiman   Piano,Vocals
Neil Stubenhaus   Electric Bass
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Roger Wilkie   Violin
Arnold McCuller   Background Vocals
Tabitha Fair   Background Vocals
Leland Sklar   Electric Bass
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Natalie Leggett   Violin
David Loucks   Background Vocals
Valerie Pinkston   Background Vocals
Gabe Witcher   Fiddle,Violin
Tiffany Palmer   Background Vocals
Michael Valerio   Upright Bass
Andrew Schulman   Cello,String Quartet
Capathia Jenkins   Background Vocals
Shayna Steele   Background Vocals
Timothy Loo   Cello
Onitsha   Background Vocals
Michael Witcher   Dobro
Shoshana Bean   Background Vocals
Noam Pikelny   Banjo
Andrew Synowiec   Guitar
Willie Murillo   Trumpet
Missi Hale   Background Vocals
Brandon Winbush   Background Vocals
Kamilah Marshall   Background Vocals
Tim Davis   Background Vocals
Thomas Diener   Viola
Scott M. Riesett   Vocals
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Jimmy Johnson   Electric Bass
Stephanie Wedan   Background Vocals
Daniel Fornero   Trumpet
Teri Eiko Koide   Background Vocals
Keri Larson   Background Vocals
Jordan Rogers   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Carole King   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer
Darlene Love   Duet
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Ed Cherney   Engineer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Dan Higgins   Orchestration
Brian Holland   Composer
Marc Shaiman   Arranger,Producer,Orchestration
Frank Wolf   Engineer
Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes   Composer
Oppenheimer   Composer
Scott M. Riesett   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Mike Lythgoe   Art Direction

Customer Reviews