I've Got the World on a String

I've Got the World on a String

by Charlie Byrd Trio Charlie Byrd Trio


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 10


This Timeless CD is a bit unusual in that guitarist Charlie Byrd sings the first six numbers; it is only the second time in his career he has taken vocals on record. His singing is simple and generally effective if not too memorable. The final 11 numbers are instrumentals (odd programming) and also surprising in that the emphasis is on standards, often from the swing era; there is only one Brazilian song (Antonio Carlos Jobim's "So Danca Samba"). Byrd (in a trio with bassist Joe Byrd and drummer Chuck Redd) is in generally fine form overall although it is doubtful that he will get too many requests to feature his singing in the future.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/12/2010
Label: Timeless Jazz Legacy
UPC: 0608917450422
catalogNumber: 74504
Rank: 131640


  1. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  2. Blue Skies
  3. How Deep is the Ocean
  4. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You?
  5. I've Got The World On A String
  6. Goody Goody
  7. They Can't Take That Away From Me
  8. Avalon
  9. Just You, Just Me
  10. One To Nothing
  11. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  12. Satin Doll
  13. Travellin' On
  14. Someone To Light Up My Life
  15. So Danca Samba
  16. Imagination
  17. Straight, No Chaser

Album Credits

Customer Reviews