Jack Goes Boating

Jack Goes Boating


$16.72 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Jack Goes Boating

For his directorial debut, Academy Award-winning actor Philip Seymour Hoffman chose a screen adaptation of Bob Glaudini's off-Broadway play Jack Goes Boating, an offbeat romantic comedy about two couples in contemporary Manhattan. For the music, Hoffman, who co-produced this various-artists soundtrack album with music supervisor Susan Jacobs, has chosen a batch of indie rock tracks by the likes of Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, and Cat Power, mixing in a couple of excerpts of Evan Lurie's instrumental score along with some reggae and jazz. But despite what seems like an eclectic mix from reading the names on the back of the album cover, there is a consistent mood throughout, and that mood is introspective and low-key. In song after song, an acoustic guitar or solo piano accompanies a high-pitched voice singing in a moody manner. So, Fleet Foxes' "Oliver James" fits right in with rocksteady reggae group the Melodians' "Rivers of Babylon" and Cat Power's sadcore lament "Where Is My Love." Gradually, the mood lightens and the jazz content increases, with Mel Torm�'s boppish reading of "Hello, Young Lovers" and Dave's True Story's neo-swing "Blue Moon" bringing up the tone before the closer, Bill Evans' modal "Peace Piece." This is a rare instance of a soundtrack album of varied music that conveys the subtle feel of a thoughtful film.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2010
Label: Lakeshore Records
UPC: 0780163419122
catalogNumber: 34191
Rank: 174851

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Bill Evans   Composer
Evan Lurie   Composer
Budd Carr   Executive Producer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Alison Goldfrapp   Composer
John Bergin   Art Direction
Richard Rogers   Composer
Peter Saraf   Executive Producer
Chan Marshall   Composer
Nora Felder   Executive Producer
Skip Williamson   Executive Producer
Nick Urata   Composer
Christopher Bear   Composer
Brian McNelis   Executive Producer
Edward Droste   Composer
Robin Pecknold   Composer
Brent Dowe   Composer
William Owen Gregory   Composer
Emily Ziff   Executive Producer
Daniel Raphael Rossen   Composer
Beth O'Neil   Executive Producer
Marc Turtletaub   Executive Producer
William "Darondo" Pulliam   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews