Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society

Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society

by James V. Schall

Paperback

$46.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 2

Overview

The engaging and inquiring mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, and history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, distinguished theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government in the tradition of Aristotle and Aquinas, of natural law and human rights and duties. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms, and how this evil can be morally dealt with. Schall's study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780847686841
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 03/12/1998
Series: 20th Century Political Thinkers Series
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 6.08(w) x 9.14(h) x 0.74(d)

About the Author

James V. Schall is professor of government at Georgetown University. He is the author of numerous books, including At the Limits of Political Philosophy: From 'Brilliant Errors' to Things of Uncommon Importance, Does Catholicism Still Exist?, and Reason, Revelation, and the Foundations of Political Philosophy.

Customer Reviews