Jammin' with Friends

Jammin' with Friends

by Bret Michaels


$12.26 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.26, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Jammin' with Friends

Once again, Bret Michaels repurposes his past for the purpose of a new album, sifting through his new millennial recordings in search of collaborations, adding a handful of new tracks to the mix and winding up with 2013's Jammin' with Friends. This time around, the title does explain it all: every one of the 20 cuts finds Michaels fooling around with one or more pals, ranging from old running mate C.C. DeVille and Sugar Ray frontman Mark McGrath to country legend Loretta Lynn and pop superstar Miley Cyrus. That duet with Miley dates from 2010, recorded not long after the peak of Michaels' reality TV stardom, as does much of the rest of this record. The new stuff is as follows: a cover of "Sweet Home Alabama" with Lynyrd Skynyrd in tow (lyric change: no longer is "the governor true," but the girls are), a live version of "Margaritaville" recorded with Jimmy Buffett in Detroit (where the Parrotheads chant "salt salt salt" throughout the chorus), the Lynn duet on "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" and, best off all, "The App Song," where Bret mashes up every social media catch phrase then growls his discontent in a lazy, loping country-rock novelty. It's fun, as are other songs scattered along here, and it's all pleasant enough, but the recycling is a problem, and if you're a dedicated fan of Michaels at all, you'll have most of this record, maybe more than once, and will be irritated to purchase much of it all over again (and that's not even counting how "Nothin' But a Good Time" and "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" are both here in two different re-recordings). Nevertheless, any fairweather fan coming to this cold will find some fun to be had among the mess.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2013
Label: Poor Boy Records Inc
UPC: 0698268652514
catalogNumber: 6525
Rank: 92643

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bret Michaels   Primary Artist
Loretta Lynn   Vocals
Jimmy Buffett   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Background Vocals,Beat Box
Ace Frehley   Guitar
Joe Perry   Slide Guitar
Jamie Laritz   Bass,Dobro,Guitar,Mandolin,Drums,Keyboards
Eric Brittingham   Bass
Randy Castillo   Drums
Phil Collen   Guitar,Vocals
Frank Hannon   Guitar,Slide Guitar
Mike Mahaffey   Bass
Hugh McDonald   Bass
Gary Rossington   Guitar
Leslie West   Guitar
C.C. DeVille   Guitar
Edwin McCain   Vocals
Don Kerce   Bass
Jeffrey Steele   Background Vocals
Lil Jon   Vocals
Chris Cagle   Vocals
Jim McGorman   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Matt Mahaffey   Drums
Michael Anthony   Bass,Vocals
Gary Smallwood   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar
Mark McGrath   Vocals
Bobby Capps   Keyboards
Mark Willis   Vocals
Brad Arnold   Vocals
Jaret Reddick   Vocals
Rusty Danmyer   Steel Guitar
Pete Evick   Guitar,Vocals
Christy Calabro   Guitar
Cliff Calabro   Bass,Guitar,Drums
Jeremy Rubolino   Keyboards
Brenda Campbell   Choir, Chorus
Miley Cyrus   Vocals
Chris Sexton   Fiddle
Chuck Fanslau   Drums
Shawn Hughes   Drums
Ray Scheuring   Bass
Renee Truex   Violin
Scot Coogan   Percussion,Background Vocals
Ryan Owens   Choir, Chorus
Peter Keys   Piano
Matt Davis   Guitar
Sal Costa   Guitar
Rickey Medlocke   Guitar
Janelle Harris   Choir, Chorus
Brian Nutter   Guitar
Dave Allen   Drums
Kim Everett   Guitar
Shields Brothers!   Background Vocals
Ian Lafferty   Dobro,Mandolin,Percussion,Keyboards
Emma Russell   Guitar
Deron Blevins   Choir, Chorus
David Russell   Guitar
Darien Gonzalez   Guitar
Bart Harris   Vocals
Whitney Smoot   Guitar
Robert Mason   Background Vocals
Rob Jozwiak   Piano
Ray Mendoza   Dobro,Mandolin,Keyboards
Ray Madonna   Percussion
Rachel Melnykovich   Guitar
Mike Himmel   Guitar
Matt Green   Drums
Kara Davis   Guitar

Technical Credits

Jimmy Buffett   Composer
Jamie Laritz   Producer,Engineer
Ed King   Composer
Bret Michaels   Composer,Art Direction,Layout
Gary Rossington   Composer
Ronnie Van Zant   Composer
Bobby Dall   Composer
C.C. DeVille   Composer
Rikki Rockett   Composer
Eric Wilson   Composer
Michael Goldberg   Pro-Tools
Brad Nowell   Composer
Lindon Roberts   Composer
Jim McGorman   Composer
Pete Evick   Composer,drum programming
Cliff Calabro   Producer,Engineer
Jeremy Rubolino   Producer,String Arrangements,String Conductor
Chris Henderson   Pro-Tools
Christine A Ellis   Graphic Design,Art Direction,Layout
Chuck Turner   Engineer
Peter Keys   Programming
Floyd Gaugh   Composer
Jim Faraci   Producer
Billy Duncan   Pro-Tools
Bart Harris   Pro-Tools
Jim Villani   String Arrangements
Kirk Chaney   Pro-Tools

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews