Jane Austen Cover to Cover: 200 Years of Classic Book Covers

Jane Austen Cover to Cover: 200 Years of Classic Book Covers

by Margaret C. Sullivan

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Jane Austen never goes out of style. Since the first publication of her six novels in the 19th century, she has delighted generations of fans with classic stories that have never changed—and countless covers that have. Jane Austen Cover to Cover compiles two centuries of design showcasing one of the world’s most beloved and celebrated novelists. With over 200 images, plus historical commentary, Austen trivia, and a little bit of wit, this fascinating and visually intriguing look back is a must for Janeites, design enthusiasts, and book lovers of every age.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Fans of Emma and Persuasion may OD on the eye candy contained in Margaret C. Sullivan's Jane Austen Cover to Cover. A fascinating survey of the visual treatments of Austen's work...this irresistible album provides an intriguing overview...”—BookPage

Library Journal

★ 11/15/2014
This attractive volume is a comprehensive overview of the many iterations of the Jane Austen oeuvre. The novelist's works have been subject to the whims of fashion in their appearance, adaptations, and even occasionally in content. Sullivan (The Jane Austen Handbook) proceeds chronologically through the lifetime of Austen's books, with sometimes amusing observations ("Oh, how charming! Mr. and Mrs. Darcy went to the Grand Canyon on their honeymoon!"). Sullivan points out anachronistic style choices and outside influences, covering everything from movie tie-ins to children's and foreign-language editions. The large format, full-color interior, and full-page pull quotes make this a browser's delight, with covers of rare editions for reference and enough information to place the content into context. From the most beautiful (perhaps a cover of Emma designed by fiber artist Jillian Tamaki) to the inexplicable (a 2006 audiobook of Sense and Sensibility features a woman in a camisole sundress), even the zombies are included. While one can find any number of items emblazoned with Austen quotes and art, this is a singular work, which includes a handy synopsis of all of Austen's works and a time line. VERDICT This survey will appeal to book collectors, designers, and the legions of Janeites, minor and major. [See "Books for the Masses," Editors' BEA Picks, LJ 7/14, p. 28.]—Linda White, Maplewood, MN

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781594747366
Publisher: Quirk Publishing
Publication date: 11/11/2014
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
File size: 20 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews