Jane-Emily: And Witches' Children

Jane-Emily: And Witches' Children

by Patricia Clapp
4.7 11

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.24
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jane-Emily and Witches' Children 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
PieBobPie22 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books that I have read in a while!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was 10 years old and I have never forgotten it. It was wonderfully terrifying and so creepy. I wanted to re-read it and also share it with my own children. It was one of the best ghost stories I have ever read and possibly the reason I grew up to love Stephen King!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two outstanding tales! You won't be sorry.
fitz12383 More than 1 year ago
The first time I heard about this author or novel was when perusing Lizzie Skurnick's Shelf Discovery, which, if you haven't picked up yet, is a wonderful little gem of a book featuring teen classics from decades past. Many of you guys have joined the Shelf Discovery Challenge as well. Anywho, I happened upon Jane-Emily and was at once drawn in with the synopsis of the story. I love ghost stories and anything with a Gothic feel. I couldn't find this one at any library nearby, so I ordered it and am so glad I did. This is a classic creepy, psychological ghost story with a side of romance for good measure. Something about children who are evil, possessed ghosts always seems extra malevolent, don't you think? Oh, and you will never look at those silver reflecting balls in peoples' front yards the same way again... ~For fans of Poe, Shirley Jackson, Du Maurier, all that good stuff. This book might also be a good way to get your kids to be fans of the aforementioned :)
harstan More than 1 year ago
¿Jane Emily¿. In the summer of 1912 in Lynn, Massachusetts, Louisa Emory accompanies her niece Jane to visit her father¿s mother. Twenty years ago another young child died there a girl who was willful, selfish, and determined to get her own way. Jane is obsessed with Emily, seeing her face in the reflections ball in the garden, reciting a poem that Emily wrote and seeing the reflections that light up on a moonless night in Jane¿s room. The one thing Emily wanted most was to grow up and marry Dr. Frost but now he is falling for Laura. That makes Emily very angry and she is determined to haunt Jess through someone he cares about. ¿Witches¿ Children¿. It began in January of 1692 in Salem village when a group of girls, cooped up for the winter, begged the slave Tituba to read the cards and tell the future from reading palms. They know the slave goes into a trance and they teach themselves how to do it. As they emulate the slave, the villagers see them having fits and when they come out of it they accuse villagers of being witches. The more attention people pay to them, the more power they gain and the more people are named witches and wizards arrests are made until one of the girls Mary Warren begins to believe they are suffering from group hysteria and begins to doubt what she has ¿seen¿ is real. All the people named witches are found guilty and some are executed until the tide of public opinion turns against them. ¿Jane-Emily¿ was first published twenty years ago and it is a brooding gothic ghost story in the tradition of Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. Slowly readers come to believe that the essence of Emily is lingering even after she died, as malevolent after death as she was in life. ¿Witches¿ Children¿ is a tale of mass hysteria in which the power of the mind is mistaken for the power of witches living in the village. Both novellas are well written, with interesting characters and a dark foreboding atmosphere.-------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago