Jason and the Argonauts

Jason and the Argonauts


$16.16 $17.95 Save 10% Current price is $16.16, Original price is $17.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21


The voyage of Jason and the Argonauts and their hunt for the Golden Fleece is one of the most enduringly popular of all of the Ancient Greek heroic myths. Accepting the quest in order to regain his kingdom, Jason assembled a legendary crew including many of Greece's greatest heroes such as Hercules, Orpheus, Atalanta, Telamon, and the twins Castor and Pollux. With this band of heroes and demi-gods, Jason set sail in the Argo on a journey across the known world. During their quest, the Argonauts faced numerous challenges including the harpies, the clashing rocks, the Sirens, Talos the bronze man, the sleepless dragon that guarded the fleece, and of course the fickle will of the gods of Olympus.

Dr. Neil Smith retells this classic myth, examining its origins, its history, and its continued popularity. The text is supported by numerous illustrations both classical and modern, including numerous artwork plates especially commissioned for this work.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781780967226
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 03/19/2013
Series: Osprey Publishing Myths and Legends Series
Pages: 80
Sales rank: 559,505
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 9.60(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Neil Smith is a freelance writer living in Virginia He earned his undergraduate degree in Classics and Medieval History from the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1996, then moved to the United States where he studied for his Master's Degree in History at the University of Georgia. After working in student-advising for six years, Neil left to pursue his PhD in History. He achieved that goal in March 2011. Along the way, Neil has written business school case studies and has over 65 wargaming articles to his credit. The author lives in Virginia.

Table of Contents


Book I: The Journey Begins
The Man with One Sandal
The Argo
The Quest Begins
Into the Storm
Interlude on Lemnos
The Monstrous Sacrifice
The Mount of Bears
The Loss of Heracles

Book II: The Voyage to Colchis
The Bebrycian Boxing Match
Phineas and the Harpies
The Clashing Rocks
Apollo and Lycus
Disaster Strikes
The Birds of Ares

Book III: The Golden Fleece
Lively Debate
The Treacherous King
The Trials of Jason
The Golden Fleece 

Book IV: The Journey Home
The Wrathful King
Jason's Shameful Act
Divine Punishment
Scylla and Charybdis
Return of the Colchins
The Endless Desert
The Deaths of Canthus and Mopsus
The Tritonian Lake
Darkness and Light
The Return to Iolcus

Select Bibliography

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews