Jazz at Midnight [RCA]

Jazz at Midnight [RCA]


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Jazz at Midnight [RCA]

The first of two CDs of ballads put out by RCA that are meant to attenuate that "special mood," this is a hodgepodge collection of music easily available elsewhere. Starting with Sonny Rollins' rendition of "'Round Midnight" and continuing with numbers by Dizzy Gillespie, Cleo Laine, Coleman Hawkins ("Sophisticated Lady"), Lionel Hampton, Warren Hill (a token crossover star), Gerry Mulligan, Clark Terry, James Moody, Lee Konitz, Lena Horne ("The Man I Love"), Paul Horn and two apiece from Paul Desmond and Chet Baker, all of the music is at slow tempos and features melodic improvising. It succeeds at its intended effect, superior background music that will not disturb anyone.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/11/1997
Label: Rca
UPC: 0090266872626
catalogNumber: 68726

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Horn   Bass Flute
Chet Baker   Trumpet,Vocals,Track Performer
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Ron Carter   Bass
Paul Desmond   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet,Track Performer
Jimmy Gourley   Guitar
Jim Hall   Guitar
Lionel Hampton   Vibes,Track Performer
Herbie Hancock   Piano
Warren Hill   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Lena Horne   Vocals,Track Performer
Bobby Jaspar   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Hank Jones   Piano
Lee Konitz   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Cleo Laine   Vocals,Track Performer
Pierre Michelot   Bass
Red Mitchell   Bass
James Moody   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Gerry Mulligan   Baritone Saxophone
Sonny Rollins   Tenor Saxophone
René Thomas   Guitar
Don Bagley   Bass
Raymond Fol   Piano
Daniel Humair   Drums
Stan Levey   Drums
Henri Renaud   Piano
Arnold Ross   Piano
Bill Plummer   Bass
Willie Rodriguez   Bongos,Conga
Lynn Blessing   Vibes
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Ralph Carmichael   Conductor
Connie Kay   Drums
Percy Heath   Bass
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Gene Bianco   Harp
Lou Bring   Conductor
Robbie Buchanan   Keyboards
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Gene Cherico   Bass
Bill Clark   Drums
Clark Terry   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Johnny Dankworth   Reeds
Hubert Fol   Alto Saxophone
Rich Girard   Bass
Bill Goodwin   Drums
Roger Guerin   Trumpet
Ellis Hall   Background Vocals
Milt Hinton   Bass
Frank Isola   Drums
Osie Johnson   Drums
Vail Johnson   Fretless Bass Guitar
Larry Koonse   Guitar
Michael Lang   Piano
John Leftwich   Bass
Pierre Lemarchand   Drums
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Billy Mackel   Guitar
George Marge   Woodwind
Rick Marotta   Drums
Nat Peck   Trombone
Benoit Quersin   Bass
Mike Renzi   Piano
Frank Strazzeri   Piano
Toots Thielemans   Harmonica
Jean-Paul Mengeon   Piano
Clark Terry   Track Performer
Gerry Mulligan Quartet   Track Performer
Paul Horn Quintet   Track Performer
Amedeo Tommasi   Piano
Ray Loeckle   Reeds
Robert Doty   Woodwind
Albet Richman   French Horn
Robert Mann   Guitar

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Stephanie L. Stein   Liner Notes
Steve Gates   Producer
Hank Hoffman   Reissue Producer,Concept
Harry Link   Composer
Jack Strachey   Composer
Holt Marvell   Composer
Scott Johnson   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews