Jazzworthy 1929-33

Jazzworthy 1929-33

by Ted Lewis


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Jazzworthy 1929-33

The 22 songs on this CD represent the tail-end of the late period of Ted Lewis' fame and influence, when his band was at its peak for personnel -- Muggsy Spanier, George Brunies, Jimmy Dorsey, Benny Goodman, Jack Teagarden, and Frank Teschemacher are all over this material, with Fats Waller at the piano and singing on a trio of numbers. The quality of the transfers varies (there is noise on some of these tracks, some of it considerable at times), and the material ranges from feel-good Depression-era numbers like "Laughing at Life" and "Headin' for Better Times" to some quite effective blues, and some hot solos all over the place. Nine of the cuts overlap with tracks that appear on Is Everybody Happy Now?, and between the two discs one gets a fair picture of Lewis, though Sony-Legacy ought to release a definitive two-CD set of Lewis' best sides someday.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/1998
Label: Challenge
UPC: 0608917901429
catalogNumber: 79014
Rank: 115377

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ted Lewis   Primary Artist,Clarinet,Leader,C-Melody Saxophone,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Benny Goodman   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Muggsy Spanier   Cornet
Jack Teagarden   Trombone
Fats Waller   Piano,Vocals
Red Nichols   Trumpet
Georg Brunis   Trombone,Trumpet,Kazoo
Frank Teschemacher   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Bachelors   Vocals
Herbert Benson   Vocals
Rod Cless   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Dorsey   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Rudy Van Gelder   Drums
Manny Klein   Trumpet
John Lucas   Drums
Jimmy Moore   Baritone Saxophone,String Bass
Erno Neufeld   Violin
Harry Barth   Bowed Bass,String Bass
Sam Blank   Trombone
Hymie Wolfson   Tenor Saxophone
Louis Martin   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Sammy Shapiro   Violin
Harry Raderman   Trombone
Dave Klein   Trumpet,Cornet
Jack Aaronson   Piano
Leo Dale   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

W.C. Handy   Composer
Tim Brymn   Composer
Chris Ellis   Producer,Audio Production
Charles F. Kenny   Composer
Paul Mares   Composer
Leon Roppolo   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
Bob Todd   Composer
Harry Barth   Brass Band
John R.T. Davies   Original Material
Cornell Todd   Composer
Lloyd Garrett   Composer
Mark Berresford   Liner Notes,Original Material
Nick Kenny   Composer
Hart A. Wand   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews