by The Dirty Dozen Brass Band


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



The Dirty Dozen Brass Band, an innovative group that combines R&B with New Orleans parade rhythms, pays tribute to the great Jelly Roll Morton on this CD. Actually the DDBB mostly ignores Morton's original recordings (and leaves out some of his themes) in an unusual set that does not find them neglecting their own individuality. A few Danny Barker monologues add to the authenticity of this music, which takes great liberties with Morton's compositions. Trumpeter Gregory Davis (who duets with guest pianist Eddie Bo on "Dead Man Blues") is the most impressive soloist, though it is the sound of the rollicking ensembles (propelled by the sousaphone of Keith Anderson) that gives this set its sense of purpose. Purists, however, should avoid this one.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/06/1993
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074645321424
catalogNumber: 53214

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Primary Artist
Eddie Bo   Piano
Danny Barker   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Keith Anderson   Trombone,Sousaphone
Revert Andrews   Percussion,Trombone
Lionel Batiste   Percussion,Drums
Gregory Davis   Percussion,Trumpet
George French   Vocals
Roger Lewis   Percussion,Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Jenell Marshall   Percussion,Drums
Big Chief Smiley Ricks   Conga
Kenyatta Simon   Drums,Djembe
Efrem Towns   Trumpet
Kevin Harris   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Jelly Roll Morton   Composer
Gregory Davis   Arranger
David Farrell   Engineer
Edward Frank   Arranger
Fred Kemp   Arranger
Roger Lewis   Arranger
Paul Mares   Composer
Tom McDermott   Arranger
Wardell Quezergue   Arranger
Christopher Austopchuk   Art Direction
Sara Rotman   Art Direction
Walter Melrose   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews