Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring: Christmas with the Dominican Sisters of Mary

Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring: Christmas with the Dominican Sisters of Mary


$14.64 $14.99 Save 2% Current price is $14.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The success of Michigan's Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist, is not difficult to explain (their first two albums were picked up by Decca, and they've moved to the still larger Sony Classical for this Christmas release. The other monastic communities who have released recordings are largely male, and the sunny attitude of the singers may be infectious depending on your outlook. This program has lots of familiar material, even a version of "We Wish You a Merry Christmas," and there's less of the Sisters' quotidian service music that made their first two albums so distinctive. Nevertheless, those who enjoy this group will find this a satisfying holiday outing. The mix of a cappella vocals and organ-accompanied hymns and carols is similar to that on the earlier albums, and the rather girlish sounds of the choristers (average age: 28) are, if anything, even smoother than before. Sample "Snowflakes" for a taste of both the Sisters' basic sound and their artless, but distinctive original compositions. A pleasure of these albums is the acoustically appropriate setting of the Sisters' Ann Arbor, Michigan, Motherhouse chapel, which keeps the text clear, but adds a chamber-sized version of cathedral resonance; one hopes that the Sisters' growing success and upcoming move to larger headquarters in Texas does not foreclose further use of this venue.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/13/2017
Label: Masterworks
UPC: 0889854174125
catalogNumber: 541741
Rank: 113223


  1. Christmas Proclamation, for women's chorus  (04:31)
  2. Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

    1. Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring  (05:14)
  3. Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166): Wake, Awake, for Night is Flying

    1. Wake, Awake, for Night is Flying  (04:09)
  4. Lulajze Jezuniu (Sleep, Little Jesus) (Polish)  (03:32)
  5. Carol of the Bells  (01:50)
  6. O come, o come, Emmanuel (Veni, veni, Emmanuel), carol  (04:50)
  7. Snowflakes, for women's chorus  (03:31)
  8. Away in a Manger  (02:13)
  9. Angels We Have Heard on High  (02:31)
  10. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fideles)  (02:13)
  11. Joy to the World (theme by Handel)  (02:10)
  12. Gaudete Christus est natus (Piae Cantiones 1582)  (01:38)
  13. Of the Father's heart begotten (A Christmas Procession)  (05:53)
  14. Madonna's Lullaby, for women's chorus  (02:31)
  15. Gabriel's Message (Basque)  (01:27)
  16. We Wish You a Merry Christmas (English)  (00:55)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews