Jim Butcher's Dresden Files: War Cry (Signed Limited Edition)

Jim Butcher's Dresden Files: War Cry (Signed Limited Edition)

Hardcover(Signed Limited Edition)

$39.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781606905753
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Publication date: 12/09/2014
Edition description: Signed Limited Edition
Pages: 136
Sales rank: 261,296
Product dimensions: 6.70(w) x 10.20(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 16 Years

About the Author

Jim Butcher is a full-time writer who lives in Independence, Missouri, with his wife, son, and ferocious guard dog.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jim Butcher's Dresden Files: War Cry 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Good volume.
Talekyn More than 1 year ago
I think of the three Dresden Files original graphic novels so far, this is my favorite. It fills in a bit of Harry's history (and the history of the war with the Red Council), reminds us of how egotistical Ramirez was when Butcher first introduced him, and also gives an expanded role to the Venatori Obrorum, a human organization that provides informational support (but not usually firepower) to the White Council. Butcher is never shy about his literary influences, but he also goes Full Lovecraft in this story and clearly enjoyed every minute of it. Naturally, with this being a hardback collection of what was originally a monthly comics series, there's a bit of repetitive exposition at the beginning of each chapter. That's easily overlooked, though, and beyond that the story (developed by Butcher and I believe scripted by Powers) has the usual Dresden flow: an initial problem/mystery that turns out to be deeper and more involved than the characters initially believe; a twist or two and a calling into question of character loyalties; Harry's overly-chivalrous nature called out and utilized by the bad-guys to their advantage; and several wonderfully-paced fight scenes in which Harry and a number of other characters kick butt. The art by Carlos Gomez really fits the story, even when it veers into slightly exagerated cartoonishness. Those moments are not frequent (and mostly deal with the aforementioned Shoggoth, which are notoriously hard to draw), and I enjoyed the look at a much younger Harry, Ramirez and others. Sadly, there's really not much to be seen of the (by this point in the series well-developed and expansive) supporting cast since the story takes place outside of Chicago. The story takes place four months after the events of the Dresden Files novel Dead Beat, but if you're new to the series and reading things in order, I'd suggest not reading War Cry right after Dead Beat. Most of the graphic novel will not spoil anything for the post-Dead Beat novels, except for the very last page. But that last page spoiler is HUGE if you haven't already read through at least the novel Turn Coat. Be warned.
Skye7 More than 1 year ago
Best of the Dresden Files Graphic Novel Series.
BC1130 More than 1 year ago
War Cries takes place after the infamously exciting and fun book #7, Dead Beat in the Dresden Files series. These graphic novels may be short stories with little dialogue but they are just as fun and exciting as the novels. They can be read as stand alone stories without reading the novels but I don't think they will have the same impact without knowing the background of the Dresden story and characters. For those who do not have the patience to read a whole novel and for fans of Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files, I highly recommend War Cries and the previous 2 graphic novel short stories, Welcome to the Jungle and Ghoul Goblins.