Jim Marshall: Show Me the Picture: Images and Stories from a Photography Legend (Jim Marshall Photography Book, Music History Photo Book)

Jim Marshall: Show Me the Picture: Images and Stories from a Photography Legend (Jim Marshall Photography Book, Music History Photo Book)

Hardcover

$49.50 $55.00 Save 10% Current price is $49.5, Original price is $55. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 8

Overview

Jim Marshall: Show Me the Picture is a collection of work by photographer Jim Marshall, who created iconic images of rock 'n' roll stars, jazz greats, and civil rights leaders.

This career-spanning volume showcases hundreds of photographs evoking the sights and sounds of the 1960s and 1970s.

Marshall photographed noteworthy musicians like Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, John Coltrane, and Janis Joplin, as well as figures throughout history—from civil rights leaders to ordinary folks in New York, San Francisco, and the American South.

• Marked-up proof sheets offer insight into Marshall's process
• In-depth essays from his contemporaries tell a compelling story about this larger-than-life man
• Marshall's legacy is the subject of a documentary feature film Show Me the Picture: The Story of Jim Marshall

From intimate portraits and heady crowd scenes to haunting street shots, Marshall's work had the power to look into the soul of an individual and capture the mood of an entire generation.

This gorgeous collection is a fitting tribute to a true legend and a must-have for devoted Jim Marshall fans and newcomers alike.


• The perfect gift for rock 'n' roll and jazz lovers, photography buffs, music history devotees, and fans of Jim Marshall
• A deluxe, beautiful volume to display on the coffee table
• Great for fans of The Haight: Love, Rock, and Revolution by Joel Selvin, Jim Marshall: Jazz Festival by Amelia Davis and Tony Nourmand, and The Road to Woodstock by Michael Lang

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781452180373
Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC
Publication date: 08/20/2019
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 106,406
Product dimensions: 9.50(w) x 11.30(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Amelia Davis is the owner and manager of Jim Marshall Photography LLC. She lives in San Francisco.

Customer Reviews