John Fowles

John Fowles

by James Acheson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


John Fowles has the distinction of being both a best-selling novelist and one whose work has earned the respect of academic critics. In this clear and concise book, James Acheson traces the development of Fowles' novels from The Collector, The Magus and The French Lieutenant's Woman, each concerned with the quest for self-knowledge, through to The Ebony Tower and Daniel Martin. He shows how the sexual element of Fowles' early novels is interwoven with the author's interest in French existentialism as, in his first three works of fiction, Fowles' main characters are obliged not only to struggle with sexual issues but to choose between living a life of humdrum conventionality, on the one hand, or seeking to discover a sense of their own 'authenticity' on the other. By the 1970s, however, Fowles' interest in existentialism had begun to wane, his disillusionment taking different forms in The Ebony Tower, a collection of short stories, and in Daniel Martin, the novel that followed it. In A Maggot, his most recent work of fiction, he abandons existentialism in favour of a more generalised philosophical issue - the limits of human knowledge.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780230348066
Publisher: Macmillan Education UK
Publication date: 10/18/2013
Series: New Casebooks
Edition description: 2013
Pages: 208
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

JAMES ACHESON is Senior Lecturer in English at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand. He is author of Samuel Beckett's Artistic Theory and Practice, co-editor of Contemporary British Poetry and Beckett's Later Fiction and Drama; and editor of The British and Irish Novel since 1960 and British and Irish Drama since 1960. A member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Beckett Studies, he has published essays on Beckett and other authors in various edited collections and journals.

Table of Contents

General Editor's Preface.- Preface.- Acknowledgements.- Introduction.- The Collector.- The Magus.- The French Lieutenant's Woman.- The Ebony Tower.- Daniel Martin.- A Maggot.- Notes.- Bibliography.- Index.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

An intriguing exploration into the mind and work of an important twentieth-century author.' - Richard Kane, Penn State University, USA

'This collection of essays covers an impressive range of Fowles's texts and represents a significant addition to Fowles studies.' - William Stephenson, University of Chester, UK

Customer Reviews