John le Carre: Three Complete Novels: Call for the Dead/A Murder of Quality/The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

John le Carre: Three Complete Novels: Call for the Dead/A Murder of Quality/The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

by John le Carré

Hardcover(3-Books-in-One, Three Complete Novels)



From the very beginning of his writing career, John le Carré proved himself to be a master of the espionage novel. His ability to depict the working world of the spy came, in part, from his years of foreign service and intelligence experience. His was not the fantasy world of the witty, dashing super-agent; it was the grimy, unglamorous, morally ambiguous world of information-gathering, aided by doubledealing and treachery.
In his first two novels, Call for the Dead (1961) and A Murder of Quality (1962), le Carré introduces and establishes his legendary secret agent, George Smiley. It is Smiley’s people and milieu that, in book after bestselling book, provided the soil out of which the modern espionage novel grew and flourished. However, it was his third novel, The Spy Who Came In from the Cold (1963), that put le Carré on the literary map. Temporarily leaving George Smiley aside, le Carré created the disillusioned agent Alec Leamas, and placed him squarely in the middle of Cold War Berlin. Questions of honor, trust, truth, and the meaning of “enemy” and “friend,” all come into deadly play in this complex tale of convenient lies, twisted loyalties, and personal betrayal.
The three novels included in this volume have introductions by the author and  forewords by some of the most eminent names in suspense fiction: P. D. James, Otto Penzler, and Joseph Kanon.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780760794579
Publisher: Fall River Press
Publication date: 11/22/2007
Series: George Smiley Series
Edition description: 3-Books-in-One, Three Complete Novels
Pages: 592
Product dimensions: 6.46(w) x 9.18(h) x 1.89(d)

About the Author

John Le Carré was born in 1931 and lives in Cornwall, England. His novels have been translated into thirty-seven languages and include Smiley’s People, The Honourable Schoolboy, The Little Drummer Girl, A Perfect Spy, The Russia House, and The Constant Gardener.

Customer Reviews

John le Carre: Three Complete Novels: Call for the Dead/A Murder of Quality/The Spy Who Came in from the Cold 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
The story presents a roller-coaster ride through the espionage world after WWII. Alec Leamas controls the story as a British spy who supposedly defects to the Germans. The story presents Liz Gold as Alec's lady love. Alec falls from grace as a British spy and plummets into a dive. Liz rushes in to help and sooth her man, but is all this a rouse? Le Carre's story implies violence, rather than graphically describing the terrors. Older and more experienced British spies vie for survival in the new world of youth and vigor. Does the opening chapter foreshadow the ending chapter? That is for the next reader to determine in reading a spy novel hailed as one of the best spy novels to be written.
gvw More than 1 year ago
I Love Le Carre, but never read these three, which include the classic that made his name, "The Spy Who Came in From the Cold." What is also interesting is seeing the roots of the George Smiley character. Le Carre was obviously a great writer from the start, and these three novels serve as a great foundation for all of the works that follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago