John Rutter: Requiem

John Rutter: Requiem

by Polyphony


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


John Rutter: Requiem

This 1997 recording by Polyphony and the Bournemouth Sinfonietta, directed by Stephen Layton, was one of the first dedicated to the works of John Rutter performed by an ensemble other than Rutter's own Cambridge Singers. It's a very fine alternative to that group's recording of the "Requiem." Polyphony and the Sinfonietta have a polished sound that enhances the richness of Rutter's writing. There isn't too much drama in Rutter's settings of text from the "Requiem" mass and the Book of Common Prayer, but Layton makes the most of it maturely, not distorting the shape of the music, but making it communicate immediately and directly with listeners. The joyful intent of movements like the Sanctus and the hymn "Cantate Domino" is unmistakable. It also highlights the way Rutter is able to paint a picture through music, as with the "Hymn to the Creator of Light," which depicts a rising sun or other emergent, bright light. The latter part of the program is a mixture of hymns and other pieces that isn't all just smooth, lush reverence, and it's not all sacred music, either. Two selections are from Rutter's "Birthday Madrigals," a set of pieces written in honor of jazz pianist George Shearing. This is a highly recommended choice for any fan of John Rutter.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/1997
Label: Hyperion Uk
UPC: 0034571169477
catalogNumber: 66947


  1. Requiem for chorus & orchestra
  2. Hymn to the Creator of Light, for unaccompanied double choir
  3. God Be in My Head, for chorus
  4. A Gaelic Blessing for chorus & orchestra
  5. Psalmfest, choir & organ (or orchestra, or charmber orchestra & organ): No. 5. Cantate Domino, for choir
  6. Open Thou Mine Eyes for chorus
  7. A Prayer of St. Patrick for chorus
  8. A Choral Fanfare
  9. Birthday Madrigals, for choir, double bass & piano: No. 2. Draw on, sweet night, for choir
  10. Birthday Madrigals, for choir, double bass & piano: No. 4. My true love hath my heart, for choir
  11. The Lord Bless You and Keep You, for chorus & orchestra

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews