Joker

Joker

Hardcover

$12.89 $19.99 Save 36% Current price is $12.89, Original price is $19.99. You Save 36%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Joker by Brian Azzarello, Lee Bermejo

An original hardcover graphic novel that tells the story of one very dark night in Gotham City--from the creative team behind the graphic novel LEX LUTHOR: MAN OF STEEL.

The Joker has been mysteriously released from Arkham Asylum, and he's none to happy about what's happened to his Gotham City rackets while he's been "away." What follows is a harrowing night of revenge, murder and manic crime as only The Joker can deliver it, as he brutally takes back his stolen assets from The Penguin, The Riddler, Two-Face, Killer Croc and others.

Brian Azzarello brings to THE JOKER all the visceral intensity and criminal insight that has made his Vertigo graphic novel series 100 BULLETS one of the most critically-acclaimed and award-winning series in all of comics.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781401215811
Publisher: DC Comics
Publication date: 11/04/2008
Pages: 128
Sales rank: 52,996
Product dimensions: 7.06(w) x 10.36(h) x 0.48(d)
Age Range: 16 - 18 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Joker 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
ShelbyBoo More than 1 year ago
This book was gritty, dark, and gruesome. I enjoyed it, but I felt that it betrayed the original Joker. Though I loved the new direction this book took, I think it was more enjoyable for fans of The Dark Knight and Ledger's Joker. The story itself is rather bland and predictable, but the characters are superb. You feel the raw emotions due to life-like illustrations. Just reading it to better understand the characters is worth it. But, if you were hoping for a little Joker and Harley romance, you won't find it. There is one tender moment, but even that is portrayed sleazily. The writing was average, except for a few metaphors that got me thinking. There was also some confusing wording (for me personally) and I found I needed a dictionary at some parts. The book wasn't long and only took me about two hours to read through. A great book for a quick read with a lasting impression. This book wasn't wow, amazing, but it's worth a read. For Batman/Joker fans it's a must and the new Joker is someone whose really interesting. Before reading be prepared to think and make connections between the artwork and dialog. My final note: If you liked The Dark Knight, read it. If you are a die-hard retro Joker fan, you might be disappointed, but this new Joker is interesting and thought-provoking. So, give it a shot. Oh! Also, there are some suggestive parts to this book. There are a few sexual scenes and lots of violence and blood. Not for those who may be squeamish. Hope you give it a chance. Best of luck and happy reading!
Gunslinger More than 1 year ago
This graphic novel does an excellent job of showing exactly how twisted the Joker is, cleverly done through the eyes of one of his new henchman. The story and writing are excellent. The artwork actually reminded me of Heath Ledger's Joker in The Dark Knight. There was a resemblance. Was it intentional? This graphic novel is not for children and may be offensive even to some adults due to skinning a man alive, an implied rape scene, drug use, strip club setting, and lots of blood.
Hiddenmastermind More than 1 year ago
This graphic novel shows a more violent image of the Joker and his insanity. The story is this: The Joker gets out of Arkham Asylum and a gangster named Jonny Frost quickly sets himself up as his driver, hoping that this will make people see him as somebody to be reckoned with. The entire story is seen through Jonny's eyes. Now that Joker is back in his town (Gotham) he's looking to collect the money that he left in the hands of those he thought were competent. He soon finds that they split the money amongst themselves, thinking the Joker wasn't going to return. A maniacal night of violent revenge and mayhem ensues as seen through the eyes of Jonny Frost. The art and story were great and made in a crime noir style. This graphic novel gave a rare insight into the mind of the Joker and further reiterated the violence he is capable of. I would recommend this to anyone who has wondered if the Joker could be any more sadistic than he is, or anyone who enjoyed the depiction of the Joker in Dark Knight (seeing as how that's what this Joker was based on.) Brian Azzarello and Lee Bermejo further proved themselves to be Masters of their Craft.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're looking for something like the Joker you know and love, then steer clear of this mess. The "edgy" designs for most of the characters are trashy and this book makes the Joker out to be a heartless rapist. There's not one thing twistedly funny about this Joker at all.
Junesong_Trigger More than 1 year ago
If you're a fan of Heath Ledger's take on the Joker, you should read this. Just don't let your kids read it. It's a great story with amazing artwork, told from the point of view of one of Joker's henchmen. It's psychotic and graphic and a little disturbing. And pretty damn awesome. This is the Joker the way he should be. A sadistic sociopath with no regard for human life. This isn't a Batman story. He barely appears in it and he only has one line. But it's a really good line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not anything close to the comic book Joker. This graphic novel has some very detailed artwork but very graphic too. The Joker in this book is not "comical" like he usually is. In this version he's more like an insane thug crime boss. Drinking, drugs, adultery, murder...etc. The language is very rough too. I have to say this is probably what the Joker would be like if he was real but I've grown up reading and watching Batman and I couldn't keep this book after reading it. It was a let down from traditional Batman. If you like tradional Batman and Joker stay away from this. It's very R-rated stuff!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always loved how crazy the Joker is and this story truly captures the range of the character. This is a dark and gritty read but it is amazing seeing Gotham thru the eyes of a lowly criminal working side by side with the Joker. Such an edge of your seat read. A must buy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It shows the true nature of the clown prince. Very well written and realistic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great take on batmans greatest foe. Gritty and feels very real one of the best graphic novels ive read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
Brian Azzarello writing the Joker is a perfect combination. He has such a good handle on depraved characters that I would be scared to share an elevator with him. His story here, which seems to have a more Dark Knight movie version of the Joker and other villains while not told through the Joker's eyes dwells on his insanity. Its creepy, jarring, well-paced, and expertly drawn by Lee Bermejo. His art is even more of a match than Azzarello's plot. While the outcome isn't surprising and the different versions of some characters are great, this book is really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarthMadeus More than 1 year ago
This novel was one of the best I have ever read in my life! I could not put it down for one second. Just the fact that someone wrote a book about the Joker caught my eye, but this novel was sheer genius. This novel captures the psychotic and evil essence of the Joker and makes him so much more real. Definitely a best seller and a re-reader. It was dark, but extremely realistic. Awesome.